What is Environmental Wellness?
NC Cardinal & ARL Catalog
The eight master lessons of nature: what nature teaches us about living well in the world - Gary Ferguson 
Publication Date: 2019
ISBN: 9781524743383
Catalog Summary: With new insights into the inner workings of nature's wonders, Gary Ferguson presents a fascinating exploration into how many of the most remarkable aspects of nature are hardwired into our very DNA. What emerges is a dazzling web of connections that holds powerful clues about how to better navigate our daily lives. Through cutting-edge data and research, drawing on science, psychology, history, and philosophy, The Eight Master Lessons of Nature will leave readers with a feeling of hope, excitement, and joy.
Subjects: Nature
This is climate change: a visual guide to the facts--see for yourself how the planet is warming and what it means for us - David Nelles & Christian Serrer 
Publication Date: 2021
ISBN: 9781615198269
Catalog Summary: A visual all-in-one guide to climate change filled with easy-to-understand infographics explaining the latest scientific findings.
Subjects: Climatic changes
A spring treasury of recipes, crafts, and wisdom - Angela Ferraro-Fanning 
Publication Date: 2022
ISBN: 9780711272835
Catalog Summary: In the Little Homesteader: A Spring Treasury of Recipes, Crafts, and Wisdom, young readers can try their hand at various spring-themed projects as well as learn interesting seasonal wisdom, and nature-related facts along the way. Packed with fun ideas to keep kids occupied during holidays or at weekends, readers can discover the joy of sowing seedlings, learn how to care for baby chicks, brew dandelion tea and, craft windchimes from foraged materials. The activities from author and homesteading teacher Angela Fanning include eco-friendly practices, such as recycling or reusing materials, and encourage readers to respect nature.
Subjects: Cooking Juvenile literature, Handicraft Juvenile literature, Spring Juvenile literature, Nature Juvenile literature, Creative activities and seat work Juvenile literature, Gardening Juvenile literature
30 great North Carolina science adventures: from underground wonderlands to islands in the sky and everything in between - April Smith 
Publication Date: 2020
ISBN: 9781469658766
Catalog Summary: North Carolina possesses an astonishingly rich array of natural wonders. Building on this abundance, April C. Smith passionately seeks to open the world of nature to everyone. Her popular science guidebook features thirty sites across North Carolina that are perfect for exploration and hands-on learning about the Earth and the environment. A stellar group of naturalists and educators narrate each adventure, explaining key scientific concepts by showing you exactly where and how to look. This guidebook is for anyone - teens, kids, families, hikers, teachers, students, and tourists alike - who loves to be outside while learning.
Subjects: Environmental sciences North Carolina Guidebooks, North Carolina Description and travel
Open-Access Resources
Environmental Wellness Checklist - A printable checklist to track and develop healthy habits to increase environmental wellness, published by the National Institutes of Health.
DBSA Wellness Wheel: Your Environmental Wellness - Resources and tips for improving environmental wellness provided by the Depression and Bipolar Support Alliance (DBSA).
What Is Environmental Wellness and Why Is It Important? - A brief overview and list of suggestions for improving environmental wellness.
How to Improve Environmental Wellness in the Workplace - A toolkit to promote environmental wellness in the workplace, including tips, resources, an assessment worksheet, and workplace activity ideas.
Media Resources
Restore your brain with nature | David Strayer | TEDxManhattanBeach - “In his informative, researched-based talk, David shares his findings that spending time in nature - without digital devices - allows the brain to rest and restore.”
In the News
Wellness Wednesday – Celebrate National Garden Month - “As warm days become more plentiful, gardeners throughout the city grow increasingly impatient to sink their trowels into the soil. U.S. Department of Agriculture has proclaimed April as National Garden Month to celebrate the contributions of home, school, and community gardens in providing healthy food for the table, pleasant surroundings and recreational benefits for neighborhoods, and habitats for wildlife across communities.”
How Environmental Wellness Affects Students - “When striving for success, it is important for students to be aware of how their environmental wellness intertwines with their performance in school and work settings.”
NC Live Databases
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection - Articles plus searchable charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs and tables representing all major environment topics.
Biological Science Database - Research on animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, health and safety science, entomology, and more.
Earth, Atmospheric Aquatic Science Database - The Earth, Atmospheric Aquatic Science Database contains full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
GreenFILE - GreenFILE is a free research database covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts. It provides thousands of open access full-text records from scholarly, government and general interest sources.
Science Database - Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.