Publication Date: 2013
Catalog Summary: Illuminates the critical role of friendship in happiness, combining scientific findings with relatable anecdotes to explore how relationships, long-time friends, and social networking groups shape an individual's mental, emotional, and physical health.
Publication Date: 2022
Catalog Summary: We all have a vague sense that social media is bad for us, for our children, and for our democracies. But what exactly is it about Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, and other platforms that causes this creeping feeling of unease? Max Fisher, using years of his own international reporting for the New York Times, tells the inside story of how the social networks fundamentally altered the world, detailing the roots of their ideology, their race to maximize engagement, and the resulting algorithms that drive everyday users to extreme opinions and, increasingly, extreme actions.
Publication Date: 2018
Catalog Summary: At once a moving meditation and an empowering guide, More Together Than Alone is a compelling testament to the power of community and why it's so essential in our lives, now more than ever. Mark Nepo draws from historical events, spiritual thought leaders, and the natural world to show how, in every generation, our tendency is to join together to accomplish our greatest achievements, from creating education to providing clean drinking water, and preserving the arts.
Community: the structure of belonging - Peter Block
Publication Date: 2018
Catalog Summary: The expanded and revised edition of Community tackles the hysteric rise of isolation and fear in a digitally interconnected world. In the second edition of Community, author Peter Block offers practical advice and uplifting stories as a way to reject the increasing pull towards isolation and fear of the stranger in a new world of constant connection. This book explores the benefits of community and belonging to foster social change and reconciliation.
Social Wellness Checklist - A printable checklist to track and develop healthy habits to increase social wellness, published by the National Institutes of Health.
Social Wellness in 8 Easy Steps - Tips to improve and nurture healthy relationships to maintain overall health.
What Is Social Wellbeing? 12+ Activities for Social Wellness - An article that discusses social wellness through positive relationships, popular theories, tools for measuring social well-being, activities for improving social well-being, and printable resources and worksheets.
The Importance of Social Wellness & How it Positively Impacts Your Physical and Brain Health - An overview and discussion of the importance of social wellness among seniors.
How's your social health? Let's test it. | Dr. Chelsea Shields | TEDxSaltLakeCity - “Humans are highly social creatures, but that doesn't always mean that our social interactions are healthy. In this informative talk, Dr. Chelsea Shields, explains how our emotions can easily be high-jacked and then offers guidance on how to evaluate and level up our social health.”
Social health: Surviving & thriving in age of overload | Julia Hobsbawm | TEDxLondonBusinessSchool - “In this talk, Julia will explore these topics in great detail and lay out her blueprint for ‘Social Health’ – the ability to balance connection to technology and its opposite (actual disconnection) – with managing KNOT: Knowledge, Networks and Time.”
Wellness Wednesday – 5 Mental Benefits of Board Games - “In an age of hyperconnectivity, unplugging for a couple of hours seems like a revolutionary way to explore, connect, and discover.”
Social wellness for older adults with CenterWell Senior Primary Care - “Dr. Tracy Wakefield explains why it is important for seniors to be active, social and connected for better long-term health.”
Arts & Humanities Database - This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Our State Magazine Collection - Search or browse Our State magazine, North Carolina's premier travel, food, and culture publication celebrating the best of life in the state. Every issue from 1933 to 2017 is online in the North Carolina Digital Collections, and articles and advertisements are full text searchable.
Psychology Database - Clinical and social psychology articles on topics such as genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.
Social Science Database - Research covering topics in sociology, social work, anthropology, and politics.
Sociology Database - Sociological and social work research including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more.