Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Wilkes County Wellness: Home

This guide is a resource for the patrons and community of Wilkes County Public Library. In this guide, you will find resources to encourage wellness in all aspects of your life and promote lifelong health benefits.

What is Wellness?

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) has defined 8 Dimensions of Wellness:

physical, emotional, social, spiritual, intellectual, financial, environmental, and occupational. 

8-Dimensions-of-Wellness.png

NC Cardinal & ARL Catalog

Eat Well, Move Well, Live Well: 52 Ways to Feel Better in a Week - Roland Denzel & Galina Denzel 

Publication Date: 2016

ISBN: 9781943370023

Catalog Summary: "Eat Well, Move Well, Live Well is a simple, straightforward guide to helping you live your most vibrant life, starting right now. Get healthier and get happier every day with guidance from two of the most knowledgeable coaches in the industry,"--Amazon.com.

Subjects: HealthWell-beingHuman mechanics


The Art of Good Habits: Health, Love, Presence & Prosperity - Nathalie Herrman 

Publication Date: 2015

ISBN: 9780738746005

Catalog Summary: Presents a step-by-step action plan to take ownership of your happiness through simple but effective changes to the way you approach health, love, presence, and prosperity.

Subjects: Well-being


The Well of Being: A Children's Book for Adults -  Jean-Pierre Weill 

Publication Date: 2016

ISBN: 9781250092700

Catalog Summary: The Well of Being, from Jean-Pierre Weill, is an illustrated inquiry into the art of happiness and what it means to be radically alive in our daily moments. Images and a philosophic text invite us to awaken from our constructed stories that we may return to this world and live in the present. The book opens with a perennial account of life's ultimate purpose and concludes with a unique retelling of the puzzle we call growing up.

Subjects: Well-beingHappinessSpiritual life


Vibrant: A Groundbreaking Program to Get Energized, Own Your Health, and Glow - Stacie Stephenson & Eve Adamson 

Publication Date: 2021

ISBN: 9781950665822

Catalog Summary: "With practical steps to improve everything from brain health and energy to immunity and weight, Vibrant introduces readers to a new way of looking at health, as something each person can control for themselves, rather than something that happens to them"-- Provided by publisher.

Subjects: Self-care, HealthWell-being

Library Resources

With your Appalachian Regional Library card number and PIN, you can access books and materials from across the state via NC Cardinal as well as online resources through NC Live.

Open-Access Resources

8 Dimensions of Wellness - A collection of videos and resources featuring the dimensions of wellness, provided by The Recovery Center of Hamilton County. 

Wellness Resources & Tools - A collection of resources by the National Wellness Institute. 

Creating a Healthier Life: A Step-by-Step Guide to Wellness - A guide published by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) to promote wellness at one’s own pace. 

Eight Dimensions of Wellness Overview - Definitions, goals, and resources for college students for each of the eight dimensions of wellness provided by Northwestern University.

Augusta University: Jags Live Well - A student-focused wellness initiative at Augusta University that educates students on the dimensions of wellness and provides resources for overall well-being. 

Your Healthiest Self: Wellness Toolkits - Various wellness toolkits published by the National Institutes of Health. Toolkits are available in English and Spanish as well as printable files. 

The Well-Being Wheel - A thorough collection of resources for each of the eight dimensions of wellness provided by the University of New Hampshire.

Media Resources

8 Dimensions of Wellness Podcast on Apple Podcasts - A podcast focused on helping listeners live well by sharing conversations with guest speakers about each of the dimensions of wellness. 

Reclaiming Wellness - A TedTalk by Jessica Matthews about cultivating wellness physically, emotionally, mentally, spiritually, and socially

The Eight Dimensions of Wellness - “This short animated video explores the Eight Dimensions of Wellness and helps people understand the practical strategies and ways they can begin developing healthy habits that can have a positive impact on their physical and mental health.”

In the News

Viewpoint: How One Company’s New Wellness Program Took Off - “Duy and his team developed a new social media platform to promote two-way conversations and share professionally produced videos that included employee stories about dealing with wellness topics across four health categories: Work, Mental, Physical and Financial, all under the banner of ‘Unlock the Best in You’ (UBY).”

‘Rise and Thrive’ grant leads to wellness initiative at Lakeland Community College - “The program is designed to promote and enhance the physical, emotional, financial, relationship, and mental wellness of Lakeland students.”

Supporting Student Wellness Series: Exploring Inner Wellness Through Outdoor Adventure - “When explored through a student-focused lens, Outdoor Adventure Trips encompass the Barnes Center at The Arch Dimensions of Wellness, with an emphasis on Physical Wellness, Emotional Wellness, Social Wellness, Intellectual Wellness and Environmental Wellness.”

Students relieve stress and anxiety at pet therapy event - “Students practice habits of emotional, physical, social and community well-being through destressing at a pet therapy event, hosted by Elon SPARKS Peer Health Educators and Kopper Top Learning Center PAAWS Program.”

NC Live Databases

Searching online databases for journals and articles can provide valuable information on a specific subject. To search an online database, you can enter your subject or keywords associated with your subject. 

Wilkes County Public Library has access to subscription-based databases via NC Live which may offer more information than using an open-access database on the web. 


ProQuest Central - General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.

CQ Researcher - Reports on issues shaping our world, with in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.

Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete - Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.

Credo Reference - A premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.