Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COVID-19 Watauga County Public Library: Available Library Services

Alert

 

Bookshelves, Frame, Heart, Love, Passion.

  Due to rising COVD-19 infection rates, Appalachian Regional Library, with public libraries in Ashe, Watauga, and Wilkes Counties, is moving back into curbside and virtual services only. Beginning Wednesday, January 13, all our library buildings will be closed to the public until further notice. 

We are still here for you!

  • Increased bandwidth for access to Wi-Fi in our parking lots 24/7
  • Print jobs delivered curbside at Boone location*
  • Assistance with Ebook downloads, placing holds, and reference questions
  • Touch Free Library Cards Issued
  • Curbside pickup of materials at Boone and Western Watauga locations
  • Notary Public service at Western Watauga Branch: call 828-297-5515

         Details below:

Wi-Fi Access

No password needed. On your device, look under Wi Fi options, look for library guest, click accept and continue.

Print jobs delivered curbside at Boone location

Email wreference@arlibrary.org and provide a phone number so we can call you when your prints are ready. *Kindly allow a 24 hr window for large or complex print jobs.

Assistance with Ebook downloads, placing holds, and reference questions

Call 828 264 8784 ext 2 for Adult Services. If we cannot answer, please leave a message so we may return your call.

Touch Free Library Cards Issued

The URL to request a library card is: https://appalachian.nccardinal.org/eg/opac/register

Your photo ID can be emailed to wataugacirc@arlibrary.org

You will be notified with your card number and can pick up your physical card at a later time.

Watauga county school students may use their student ID to check out up to 10 books/audiobooks with no late fines.

Curbside Instructions

1.)   Put books on hold using your library card through our catalog or call us to place holds

2.)  Please wait for notification, allow at least 48 hours–we’ll call you when they’re ready!

3.)   Please note that the amount of time may be longer than usual.

4.)   Park in front of the library.

5.)   Call the library with your last name, the last 4 numbers of your library card. Give us a few minutes to check out materials.

6.)   We’ll leave the items on the large table in front of the library.

Please return all library materials in our book drop behind the library.

 

Notary Public Service is available through the Western Watauga Branch:

call 828-297-5515 and ask for Jackie for details.


That's Not All!

Follow us on Face Book https://www.facebook.com/wataugacountylibrary for virtual programs, workshops, and updates. Check our website at https://www.arlibrary.org/watauga or call us to learn more about any of the following:

 
 
Hours of Curbside Operation
Watauga County Public Library
140 Queen Street, Boone NC
828-264-8784
Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday from 10 am – 6 pm
Friday, and Saturday from 10 pm - 4 pm
 

 

Western Watauga Branch Library
1085 Old US 421, Sugar Grove, NC
828-297-5515
Monday and Wednesday from 10 am – 4 pm
Tuesday and Thursday from 10 am - 6 pm

Thank you, and stay safe and well!

All of us at the Watauga County Public Library

Library Services

Additional News:

Use Ancestry Library edition from home!

Grab your library card and click here to get started on your family research. Enter your library card number with no spaces or dashes.  Your pin is the last 4 of your phone number. Doesn't work? Email us at wreference@arlibrary.org and we will reset it for you. Enjoy!

Library Cards

For many of the online resources, but not all, you will need a library card.

Don’t have a library card? We’ve got you covered. 

Reading, Resources, and Education Online

Every day, more wonderful educational and recreational resources are being made available at no charge online. We are working hard to share these resources with you!  Find these on our web site at www.arlibrary.org

Tips On Logging In

  • When you enter your library card number, put in the whole thing with no spaces
  • Your pin number is that last 4 digits of the phone number on file with us

If you are having trouble, we probably need to re-set your pin number. Send us an email at wreference@arlibrary.org with your name and the last 4 digits of your library card number.

Wi-Fi Service

Wi-Fi will be available in the library parking lot 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at both the Boone and Western Watauga locations. No password needed. Please remember to stay safe and practice social distancing by remaining at least six feet away from others if using the Wi-Fi.

Contact us

Stay in touch

Stay safe and well! 

All of us at The Watauga County Public Libraries

Digital Collections

The following digital collections of eBooks and audiobooks are available to library patrons. When accessing these collections remotely, you will need to provide your library account number and your PIN. Unless you have reset it, your PIN is the last four digits of the phone number the library has on file for you.
  • OverDrive from Appalachian Regional Library: Appalachian Regional Library makes both eBooks and audiobooks available through Overdrive.
  • Libby, by OverDrive: Libby is an app available from Overdrive that can be used to access ARL's Overdrive collection. Click the link to learn more about Libby and download the app to your device.
  • Overdrive from Northwest Regional Library: A special partnership with our neighboring Northwestern Regional Library system (Alleghany, Stokes, Surry, and Yadkin counties) makes available downloadable eBooks and audiobooks from that library system for cardholders of Appalachian Regional Library (Ashe, Watauga, and Wilkes counties). Click above to access these collections; sign in with your library card number as an Appalachian Regional Library user.
  • NC Kids Digital Library: NC Kids Digital Library offers e-books, audiobooks, streaming videos, and Read-Alongs.  This collection was specifically designed for youth and includes picture books, youth fiction, youth nonfiction, young adult, and more. NC Kids Digital Library is sponsored by NCPLDA: NC Public Library Directors Association, NCGA: NC General Assembly, with assistance from the State Library of North Carolina and supported by an IMLS federal LSTA grant.
  • Audiobooks from NC Live: NCLive.org is a collection of resources provided by the State of North Carolina. Audiobooks are provided by NCLive through RBdigital. Sign in to NCLive.org with your library system name (Appalachian Regional Library) and library card number to create a OneClickdigital account with your own user name and password and to download these audiobooks.

Online Resources

NC Live
NC Live can be accessed anywhere you have an internet connection. With content from more than 50,000 newspapers, journals, magazines, encyclopedias, ebooks, e-audio, and streaming video titles, NC Live offers users the highest quality, most authoritative, subscription resources in the information marketplace.
Genealogy and Historical Maps
If you're working on genealogy research from home, you can access resources available through Heritage Quest any time.

Reading Challenges

The library sponsors a yearly reading challenge for all ages. We think this year's challenges are a good mix between the general (so you can include many of the books you would have read anyway) and the specific (so you have to read some books you never would have chosen on your own). Our library sponsors this challenge for two very important reasons: to promote literacy in our community and have fun doing it. If these goals float your boat, we hope you'll join us on this literary voyage! Visit the Reading Challenge website to get started.