Alert
|
Appalachian Regional Library, with public libraries in Ashe, Watauga, and Wilkes Counties is open to the public. Each location continues to offer curbside service. Effective August 19, 2021 In alignment with Watauga County's State of Emergency, masks are required in the building. Drinking and eating only in designated area. Limited seating is available. Study rooms are available on a first come first served basis; please wear a mask inside the room. Our Meeting Room is available with restrictions for 1 group per day. A reservation must be made no more than 60 days in advance. Email wreference@arlibrary.org or use ext. 2 for Adult Services. Masks are required in the meeting room. Free disposable masks available upon request.
Additional Services
Details below: |
Chromebook and Hotspot Checkout
We have seven chromebooks available for checkout. Please provide your library card Instructions are included in the case. (3 week checkout , no renewals)
We have three non-holdable hotspots available for checkout. (1 week, no renewal)
Please call us at 828 264 8784 ext 2 with any questions.
Wi-Fi Access
No password needed. On your device, look under Wi-Fi options, look for library guest, click accept and continue.
Assistance with Ebook downloads, placing holds, and reference questions
Call 828 264 8784 ext 2 for Adult Services. If we cannot answer, please leave a message so we may return your call.
Touch Free Library Cards Issued
The URL to request a library card is: https://appalachian.nccardinal.org/eg/opac/register
Your photo ID can be emailed to wataugacirc@arlibrary.org
You will be notified with your card number and can pick up your physical card at a later time.
Watauga county school students may use their student ID to check out up to 10 books/audiobooks with no late fines.
Curbside Instructions
1.) Put books on hold using your library card through our catalog or call us to place holds
2.) Please wait for notification, allow at least 48 hours–we’ll call you when they’re ready!
3.) Please note that the amount of time may be longer than usual.
4.) Park in front of the library.
5.) Call the library with your last name, the last 4 numbers of your library card. Give us a few minutes to check out materials.
6.) We’ll leave the items on the large table in front of the library.
Notary Public Service is available through the Western Watauga Branch:
call 828-297-5515 and ask for Jackie for details.
That's Not All!
Follow us on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/wataugacountylibrary for virtual programs, workshops, and updates. Check our website at https://www.arlibrary.org/watauga or call us to learn more about any of the following:
- NC Kids Digital – ebooks for children
- OverDrive – ebooks for adults and young adults
- Access to other ebooks on the NC Live site: https://www.nclive.org/browse#format-ebooks
- Access to streaming videos through NC Live: https://fod.infobase.com/nd_Home.aspx
Thank you, and stay safe and well!
All of us at the Watauga County Public Library
Library Services
Additional News:
Use Ancestry Library edition from home!
Grab your library card and click here to get started on your family research. Enter your library card number with no spaces or dashes. Your pin is the last 4 of your phone number. Doesn't work? Email us at wreference@arlibrary.org and we will reset it for you. Enjoy!
Library Cards
For many of the online resources, but not all, you will need a library card.
Don’t have a library card? We’ve got you covered.
- Go to the catalog page: https://appalachian.nccardinal.org/eg/opac/home
- Click "Request Library Card" in the bottom left corner
- Then, email an image of your photo ID to wataugacirc@arlibrary.org
Reading, Resources, and Education Online
Every day, more wonderful educational and recreational resources are being made available at no charge online. We are working hard to share these resources with you! Find these on our web site at www.arlibrary.org
Tips On Logging In
- When you enter your library card number, put in the whole thing with no spaces
- Your pin number is that last 4 digits of the phone number on file with us
If you are having trouble, we probably need to re-set your pin number. Send us an email at wreference@arlibrary.org with your name and the last 4 digits of your library card number.
Wi-Fi Service
Wi-Fi will be available in the library parking lot 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at both the Boone and Western Watauga locations. No password needed. Please remember to stay safe and practice social distancing by remaining at least six feet away from others if using the Wi-Fi.
Contact us
- Email us at wreference@arlibrary.org
- Call us at (828) 264-8784 and leave a message
Stay in touch
- Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/wataugacountylibrary/
- Sign up for our newsletter at https://bit.ly/2UCn9fl
- Check the website often for updates and new resources.
Stay safe and well!
All of us at The Watauga County Public Libraries
Digital Collections
The following digital collections of eBooks and audiobooks are available to library patrons. When accessing these collections remotely, you will need to provide your library account number and your PIN. Unless you have reset it, your PIN is the last four digits of the phone number the library has on file for you.
-
OverDrive from Appalachian Regional Library: Appalachian Regional Library makes both eBooks and audiobooks available through Overdrive.
-
Libby, by OverDrive: Libby is an app available from Overdrive that can be used to access ARL's Overdrive collection. Click the link to learn more about Libby and download the app to your device.
-
Overdrive from Northwest Regional Library: A special partnership with our neighboring Northwestern Regional Library system (Alleghany, Stokes, Surry, and Yadkin counties) makes available downloadable eBooks and audiobooks from that library system for cardholders of Appalachian Regional Library (Ashe, Watauga, and Wilkes counties). Click above to access these collections; sign in with your library card number as an Appalachian Regional Library user.
-
NC Kids Digital Library: NC Kids Digital Library offers e-books, audiobooks, streaming videos, and Read-Alongs. This collection was specifically designed for youth and includes picture books, youth fiction, youth nonfiction, young adult, and more. NC Kids Digital Library is sponsored by NCPLDA: NC Public Library Directors Association, NCGA: NC General Assembly, with assistance from the State Library of North Carolina and supported by an IMLS federal LSTA grant.
-
Audiobooks from NC Live: NCLive.org is a collection of resources provided by the State of North Carolina. Audiobooks are provided by NCLive through RBdigital. Sign in to NCLive.org with your library system name (Appalachian Regional Library) and library card number to create a OneClickdigital account with your own user name and password and to download these audiobooks.