Watauga African American History Month: NC Live Databases

To access NC Live from outside the library you will need to sign in.  To do this, first select the "Appalachian Regional Library", then enter your library card number which is located on the back of your card under the barcode.  When you enter the the number, please do not include any spaces.

Databases contain a collection of digitized print resources as well as ejournals which can be searched by keyword, subject, title, author, etc.. Each item retrieved in a database has been vetted through a formalized publishing process and can therefore be considered authoritative. Articles as well as books can and should be cited in the same way the corresponding print resource is normally handled.

• African-American Poetry
  Poems from 1750-1900 including Lucy Terry Prince, Phillis Wheatley, Jupiter Hammon, Paul Laurence Dunbar, and more.



• American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography
  Life histories of former slaves compiled from 4,000 interviews with ex-slaves.



• Gale Virtual Reference Library
  Searchable collection of online reference titles including The African American Almanac as well as UXL Encyclopedia of World Biography.



• NC LIVE Video Collection
  Online videos from PBS including Ken Burns documentaries, Masterpiece Theater, Scientific American, American Experience, and more.



• ProQuest Central
  General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.



• SIRS Knowledge Source
  Articles, issues researcher, primary sources, websites and graphics to support K-12 students with research, study and homework.



• Twentieth Century African-American Poetry
  Sixty-two of the most important African-American poets of the last century: Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove.