Index

A

• African Origins
  African Origins contains information about the migration histories of Africans forcibly carried on slave ships into the Atlantic. Using the personal details of 91,491 Africans liberated by International Courts of Mixed Commission and British Vice Admiralty Courts, this resource makes possible new geographic, ethnic, and linguistic data on peoples captured in Africa and pulled into the slave trade.


• The African-American Mosaic
  A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History and Culture.


• African American Registry
  The African American Registry is a comprehensive on-line storehouse of African American heritage. This resource has articles, videos and lesson plans.


• African-American Religion: A Documentary History Project
  This website was compiled by Amherst College on the history of African-American religion, from the earliest African-European encounters along the west coast of Africa in the mid-fifteenth century to the present day.


• Africans in America
  The Public Broadcasting Service's Africans in America Web site is a companion to the television series Africans in America. It chronicles the history of racial slavery in the United States from the start of the Atlantic slave trade in the 16th century to the end of the American Civil War in 1865.


• After Slavery
  An International project by Queen's University Belfast, The University of Memphis, the University of London and the College of Charleston which draws together developments of the post-emancipation South and relates them to American labor history.


• Avalon Project - African Americans
  The Yale Law School's Avalon Project web site makes accessible a number of full-text books by notable black authors including Frederick Douglass, Booker T. Washington, and Martin Luther King Jr..

B

• Black History, American History
  A collection of essays by African American public intellectuals which have appeared in The Atlantic Monthly over the years. The contributors include Frederick Douglass (1866), Booker T. Washington, (1896, 1899) and W.E.B. DuBois (1897, 1902) and Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. (1963).


• Black History Pages
  An online catalog of the best black history websites on the Internet that have been categorized to make it easier to find sites that interest you. Visitors can search, browse, rate and review hundreds of websites.


• Black Loyalist
  The University of Sydney's Black Loyalist is a repository of historical data about the African American loyalist refugees who left New York between April and November 1783 and whose names are recorded in the Book of Negroes.


• The Black Past: Remembered & Reclaimed
  A 10,000 page reference center dedicated to providing information to the general public on African American history and on the history of the more than one billion people of African ancestry around the world.


• Brown v. Board of Education Online Archive
  The University of Michigan's online archive contains documents and images which chronicle events surrounding this historically significant case.

C

D

• Digital Library on American Slavery
  The University of North Carolina at Greensboro's digital library offers a searchable database of detailed personal information about slaves, slaveholders, and free people of color.


• Digital NC
  The North Carolina Digital Heritage Center is a statewide digital library program that provides institutions with the opportunity to promote and increase access to their collections through digital projects.


• Digital Watauga: Junaluska Heritage Collection
  The Watauga County Public Library's Digital Watauga Project: Junaluska Heritage Collection consists of photographs spanning the late nineteenth through the early twentieth centuries. The collection contains images of many descendants of the original families who settled in the Junaluska community in the mid to late 1800s, as well as an image of the historical consolidated black school and school children.


• Documenting the American South
  The University of North Carolina's digital initiative provides internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.


• Du Bois Review
  Harvard University's Du Bois Review (DBR) is a scholarly, multidisciplinary, and multicultural journal devoted to social science research and criticism about race. Launched in the spring of 2004, the journal provides a forum for discussion and increased understanding of race and society from a range of disciplines, including but not limited to economics, political science, sociology, anthropology, law, communications, public policy, psychology, linguistics, and history. (Some full text articles are available for free.)


• Duke University - Digital Collections
  Duke University's Digital Collections website contains several virtual collections covering topics such as African American Women, the Jim Crow South as well as the emancipation and urbanization of the South.

E

• Experiencing War: African Americans at War
  The Library of Congress' Experiencing War: African Americans at War website contains personal narratives sent to the LoC by veterans from all wars. Vivid as if they happened yesterday, these heartfelt accounts will make you laugh, cry and remember. The stories are not a formal history of war, but a treasure trove of individual feelings and personal recollections. As the LoC builds this unprecedented collection documenting both veterans and civilians and their EXPERIENCES of war, they will introduce new themes on the Web site.

F

• Flashbacks: "African-American Education"
  A collection of Atlantic Monthly articles by W.E.B. DuBois, Booker T. Washington, and others that consider the education and empowerment of African-Americans.

G

H

• The History Makers
  The HistoryMakers is a national non profit educational institution founded in 1999, committed to preserving, developing and providing easy access to an internationally recognized, archival collection of thousands of African American video oral histories.


• Hiphop Archive & Research Institute
  Harvard University's Hiphop Archive and Research Institute's mission is to facilitate and encourage the pursuit of knowledge, art, culture and responsible leadership through Hiphop.

I

• Images of African Americans from the 19th Century
  This website was created by the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture of The New York Public Library and provides internet access to 19th century images of African Americans. Topics covered include Social Life & Customs, Civil War, Education, Reconstruction and Religion to name but a few.

J

• Junaluska Heritage Association
  This website was created by the Junaluska Heritage Association and provides information about Boone, North Carolina's historically black community which has a unique and continuous history dating back to the mid-late 1800’s.

K

L

• LOC American Memory: African American History Collections
  A list of 16 collections by the Library of Congresses American Memory Project. Collections cover topics such as notable persons, printed materials, religion and slavery.

M

• Malcolm X: A Research Site
  Launched in 1998, this is a comprehensive website on the life of Malcolm X. Includes Videos, audio files of speeches, photographs and letters. A free version of rhapsody player is required to view some content on this site.


• The Malcolm X Project at Columbia University
  This is a comprehensive website compiled by the Center for Contemporary Black History as well as the Institute for Research in African-American Studies on the life of Malcolm X. Includes Videos, audio clips of speeches, newspaper articles and documents taken from the FBI files of Malcolm X. A free version of realPlayer player is required to view some content on this site.


• Martin Luther King Historic Speeches and Interviews Project
  The Detroit Area Library's Martin Luther King Historic Speeches and Interviews Project contains links to approximately 25 videos.

N

• North By South
  Kenyon College's North By South website explores the culture, traditions, history and impact of the communities resulting from the 1900-1960 African-American migrations from south to north.


• North Carolina's Exploring Cultural Heritage Online
  NC ECHO searches across digital collections at a variety of cultural heritage institutions around North Carolina. NC ECHO is a first step for users interested in exploring North Carolina's diverse collections of historic photos, documents, books, family histories, maps, and much more.

O

• Our Story
  A project of the Smithsonian’s National Museum of American History, OurStory is designed to help children and adults enjoy exploring history together through children’s literature, everyday objects, and hands-on activities. Use this site to discover information about Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and Nonviolence; Duke Ellington and Jazz; Slave Life and the Underground Railroad and; Students Sit for Civil Rights.

P

Q

R

• Race (Atlantic Monthly: Flashback Archive)
  Articles from The Atlantic Monthly's archive and related links.


• Race: Are We So Different?
  The virtual exhibition RACE: Are we so different? brings together the everyday experience of living with race, its history as an idea, the role of science in that history, and the findings of contemporary science that are challenging its foundations.

S

• Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
  Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture - A national research library devoted to collecting, preserving and providing access to resources documenting the experiences of peoples of African descent throughout the world. Today, the Schomburg Center contains over 5,000,000 items and provides services and programs for constituents from the United States and abroad.

T

• The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
  The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database has information on more than 35,000 slave voyages that forcibly embarked over 12 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries. It offers researchers, students and the general public a chance to rediscover the reality of one of the largest forced movements of peoples in world history.

U

V

• Voices of Civil Rights
  An online exhibition by the Library of Congress that documents events during the Civil Rights Movement in the United States. This exhibition draws from the thousands of personal stories, oral histories, and photographs.

W

X

Y

Z