Watauga Good Neighbor Project 2018: NC Live Databases

To access NC Live from outside the library you will need to sign in.  To do this, first select the "Appalachian Regional Library", then enter your library card number which is located on the back of your card under the barcode.  When you enter the the number, please do not include any spaces.

Databases contain a collection of digitized print resources as well as ejournals which can be searched by keyword, subject, title, author, etc.. Each item retrieved in a database has been vetted through a formalized publishing process and can therefore be considered authoritative. Articles as well as books can and should be cited in the same way the corresponding print resource is normally handled.

• Credo Reference
  A premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.



• Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete
  Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills. For help downloading books, please click either link: written instructions OR video tutorial.



• Films on Demand Video Collection
  Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.



• Gale Virtual Reference Library
  Searchable collection of online reference titles including the Encyclopedia of Bioethics as well as The Gale Encyclopedia of Science .



• Health & Medical Collection
  Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles.



• Health & Wellness Information Center
  NCLive's Health & Wellness Information Center web page includes information on topics such as: Obesity, Substance Abuse, Mental Health & Developmental Disabilities and Diabetes.



• ProQuest Central
  General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.



• ProQuest Psychology
  Clinical and social psychology articles on topics such as genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.



• Research Library
  ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics.



• SIRS Knowledge Source
  Articles, issues researcher, primary sources, websites and graphics to support K-12 students with research, study and homework.

• Addictions


• Adults


• Alcoholism


• Antidepressants


• At risk youth


• Attitudes


• Children & youth


• College students


• Colleges & universities


• Counseling


• Crisis intervention


• Deinstitutionalization


• Drug addiction


• Drug overdose


• Drug use


• Females


• Gays & lesbians


• Gender identity


• High income


• Impulsivity


• Income inequality


• Institutionalization


• Intervention


• Low income groups


• Males


• Mental depression


• Mental disorders


• Mental health


• Mental health care


• Mental institutions


• Middle age


• Middle income


• Occupational stress


• Older people


• Parents & parenting


• Post traumatic stress disorder


• Poverty


• Prevention


• Prevention programs


• Psychiatric-mental health nursing


• Psychiatry


• Psychology


• Psychopathology


• Psychosomatic medicine


• Religion


• Risk assessment


• Risk factors


• Secondary schools


• Self destructive behavior


• Sexual orientation


• Social classes


• Socioeconomic factors


• Stress


• Student behavior


• Studies


• Suicides & suicide attempts


• Teenagers


• Therapy


• Veterans


• Young adults