Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Watauga County Jobs Search Guide: Books and Materials

Looking for new employment or to further your career? This resource guide is designed to provide you books, guides, tutorials, and resources that will aid you in your job searching.

Watauga County Public Library Employment Resources Grant

Watauga County Public Library Employment Resources Grant

The Watauga County Public Library received a mini-grant in March of 2021 from Google to promote resources available through Grow with Google, as well as those in the community and through the library that can help the job seeker with resume and cover letter creation and interviewing skills. 
We partnered with NCWorks and Goodwill Industries of NorthWest North Carolina to provide helpful information.  Videos were posted weekly on the library’s Facebook page that highlighted Grow with Google tools for the job search, our partners, and library titles and online resources. They are shared under the Programs and Tutorials tab.

The mini-grant funds were used for job search related titles for the library’s collection, resume paper, envelopes and thumb drives to give away in theAdult Services Dept. while supplies last.

 

Job Search Books and eBooks

To  learn more about these listings, click on the listing's title or book cover for a direct link. 
Print Books
Click here to learn how to obtain a library card and download eBooks.
Genre Title Cover Format Author Summary
Adult Nonfiction Amazing Interview Answers Book

Richard Blazevich

"Job hunting? Or know someone who is? This book is perfect to help anyone gain an advantage during the toughest part of the process, the dreaded job interview. In Amazing Interview Answers, you'll find everything you need to successfully interview for the jobs you want. The author includes step-by-step instructions for preparing for interviews. He also shares 88 examples of great answers to 44 of the most commonly asked questions. Plus, he includes tips for researching jobs as well as frameworks for preparing your interview answers. If you're the type of person who learns by example, this book is for you. It's full of questions that are typically asked during interviews along with examples of winning answers for each question. It also gives you insider tips for what you should and shouldn't say during interviews. What a rush it will be when you conclude job interviews knowing that you nailed them. If you follow the advice in this book, you should experience that feeling every time you walk out of an interview"

Adult Nonfiction Amplify Your Job Search  Book

Jeffrey Ton

Searching for your next job can be difficult for even the most accomplished professional. When it comes to finding your dream job, old strategies and tactics no longer work. Whether you’re currently in transition and seeking employment or you are currently working and have decided it is time for a new challenge, this book delves into the strategies of success for landing your most sought-after role. Amplify Your Job Search: Strategies for Finding Your Dream Job is a guidebook that teaches you a laser-focused, data-driven approach and provides you with the tools to achieve the following outcomes:

  • Identify your strengths, values, passions and purpose
  • Develop your personal brand and use it to your advantage
  • Build a powerful and diverse professional network
  • Write a resume that reflects your greatest attributes
  • Develop strategies to articulate your dream job
  • Use a data-driven approach to find that dream job
  • Evaluate offers and secure your new position
Adult Nonfiction Best Job Search Tips
for 60 Plus
Book

Toby Haberkorn
& Elizabeth O'Neal

 

Readers will learn about effective job search strategies and realistic work possibilities. Boomers have already changed many of the stereotypes our society holds. Most would say they are very different from their parents, who appeared to be much older at the same age and saw retirement as the only reward for their years of work. With so many Americans living into their 90s, working past age 60 is increasingly common. Whether working for income or looking for meaningful work post retirement, job seekers face an employment market has changed drastically in recent years.
Adult Nonfiction The Career
Stories Method
Book Kerri Twigg

"From the internationally recognized creator of Career Stories comes a guide to find or create your dream job--by starting with the stories you tell about yourself"-- Provided by publisher.

Adult Nonfiction Get Hired Now: How
to Accelerate Your
Job Search
Book Ian Siegel

"Accelerate your job search, stand out, and land your next great opportunity In Get Hired Now!, ZipRecruiter founder and CEO Ian Siegel tells you exactly how to find a new job fast. With an insider's view of how over a million employers really make hires, Ian pulls insights from the data to give you step-by-step instructions for writing a resume that works, finding the right jobs to apply to, acing a job interview, and negotiating a job offer. Debunk the conventional wisdom. Break the unconscious habits that are sabotaging your success. Get hired in record time.

Relevant for every stage of your career and for every industry, Get Hired Now! is a one-stop resource for job seekers looking to level up, stand out, and land the job"-- Provided by publisher.

Adult Nonfiction Get that job!: The quick and complete guide to a winning job interview Book Thea  Kelley Praised as "Excellent" on Forbes.com, this concise interview guide gives readers proven tips and clear instructions to prepare for breakthrough interviews.
Adult Nonfiction Ignite Your
LinkedIn Profile
Book Donald Wittman "Are you ready to finally get real results with LinkedIn? If you want to connect with recruiters, and employers, find "hidden jobs"; and build a volume of quality referrals in as little time as possible then this book has the answers you need and the step-by-step techniques to implement them."-- Amazon.com
Adult Nonfiction Knock 'em Dead Book Martin Yate

Includes bibliographical references and indexes.


 
Adult Nonfiction Ladders Interview Guide Book Marc Cenedella The author of America’s largest career advice newsletter coaches you to achieving your best performance in job interviews, without gimmicks or agony, in a quick 90 minute read. Based on 15 years experience, the feedback from millions of readers, and over 100,000 HR professionals, recruiters, and hiring managers, Ladders Interviews Guide provides easy and effective advice for fast-rising and mid-career professionals from the leader in $100K- $500K careers. In about 90 minutes, Cenedella shares the best insights and hand-picked advice from his decades-long experience.
Adult Nonfiction  Modernize Your Executive
Job Search
Book Louise Kursmark

"Modernize Your Executive Job Search: Get Noticed Get Hired is a clear and concrete guide to help senior executives advance to their next career opportunity. Strategies are designed to propel the careers of present-day C-suite executives, those targeting advancement to the highest leadership levels, rising/very senior-level executives, and candidates seeking opportunities to serve on boards of directors."--Amazon.com.

Adult Nonfiction Modernize Your Resume: Get Noticed...get hired Book Wendy Enelow
& Louise Kursmark

Based on today's real-world job search trends, Modernize Your Resume shows you how to craft a winning resume to meet the complexities of today's highly competitive and technologically driven employment market. The 2nd edition has been updated with new resume samples, new designs, and new ATS and e-resume guidelines, along with new chapters for jobseekers with special circumstances--career change, military transition, and return to work. Clear guidelines and easy-to-follow examples give you practical know-how for building your own powerful resume that will serve all of your job search needs. You'll learn what works, why it works, and how you can make it work for you.

Adult Nonfiction Shit I Got Fired:
A short
no bs guide
on how to get hired
after being fired
Book Dick Barlik

A short guide on how to get hired after being unexpectedly fired. It is not your typical lame self-help book that leaves you passively motivated and without any real actionable steps you can take to build the bridge from fired to hired.

Adult Nonfiction The Job Seeker
& the Coach
Book Hamza Zaouali

"Imagine losing your job and having only four weeks to find work or be evicted from the country. For Lisa, this marks the beginning of a once-in-a-lifetime journey that transforms her job search and changes her entire career forever, bringing the reader along for the ride (Look inside the book to read how it all began). What started as a series of job search coaching sessions turns out to be an eye-opener into the hiring world and a step-by-step formula to truly stand out from the competition." --Amazon.

Adult Nonfiction The STAR method explained Book

Martha Gage

Do you struggle to give concise answers to interview questions? Are you unsure how to sell yourself during an interview without sounding boastful? The STAR method can help! Impressing at a competency-based interview is all about the way you tell your story, so it is particularly important to prepare for this sort of interview. This interview response technique offers a straightforward format you can use to answer behavioral interview questions--those prompts that ask you to provide a real-life example of how you handled a certain kind of situation at work in the past. The STAR method is a structured manner of responding to interview questions by discussing the specific Situation, Task, Action, and Result of the situation you are describing. This technique helps you create an easy-to-follow story with a clear conflict and resolution. In this guide, the following is discussed: Employer priorities; Creating a measurable difference; Communicating a measurable difference; STAR framework; Action verbs tell a story; Interview questions and answers; Creating your STAR resume; STAR cover letters. Just follow our tips and examples and you will be using the STAR system to your own benefit in no time. You deserve a job and life you want. This book can help you became a step closer to your dream!
Adult Nonfiction Thriving at Work Book Michael Dam If you are new to the workforce or want to jump start your career, Thriving At Work delivers a proven and practical roadmap to achieve success from day one and throughout your career. More than a dozen executives from well-known multi-national companies have given their complete endorsement after reviewing this book. Even though most companies today believe college graduates lack the crucial skills to be ready and to succeed in the workplace, Michael Dam wants to help you prove them wrong. Drawing from over twenty five years of professional as well as teaching experience, the author shares his insight and real life examples that will help you fast track your career, avoid potential pitfalls and not having to learn the hard way. Designed and organized for easy reading, the book is split into different sections, so you can easily read the topics you're interested in at the moment, and be able to refer back to the book as needed throughout your career. The author discusses at length on topics such as getting the right job, getting a head start and standing out at work, handling pressure situations, dealing with difficult co-workers and managers, managing your career paths, and successfully navigating the many challenges you will face throughout your career. A great companion for college graduates and seasoned professionals alike, Thriving At Work is a "timeless book for achieving career success."
Adult Nonfiction 2-Hour Job Search Book Steve Dalton

"Use the latest technology to target potential employers and secure the first interview--no matter your experience, education, or network--with these revised and updated tools and recommendations."-- Provided by publisher.

Adult Nonfiction What Color is
Your Parachute
Book Richard Bolles "In today's challenging job-market, as recent grads face a shifting economic landscape and seek work that pays and inspires, as workers are laid off mid-career, and as people search for an inspiring work-life change, the time-tested advice of What Color Is Your Parachute? is needed more than ever. This completely updated edition features the latest resources, strategies, and perspectives on today's job market, revealing surprising advice on what works--and what doesn't--so you can focus your efforts on tactics that yield results."-- Publisher's description.
eBooks on Overdrive
Adult Nonfiction The Job Search Navigator eBook Matt Durfee

In these uncertain times, The Job Search Navigator is a reliable guide to every step of the twenty-first–century job hunt, whether readers are laid off, wanting to change careers after surviving cutbacks, or seeking a better full-time gig in a stagnant marketplace. Author Matt Durfee writes from the perspective of someone who has both recruited for some of America's biggest companies and navigated his way through nine of his own job losses.

The book combines practical real-world perspectives with the technical knowledge job seekers need in order to excel at every aspect of their searches. Drawing on the knowledge Durfee accumulated through his own experiences, searches, and big-brand corporate hiring responsibilities, The Job Search Navigator abandons the "clinical approach" of many other career-advice books. Instead, Durfee gives easy-to-follow strategies and, perhaps more importantly, recounts in illuminating detail the kinds of mistakes that led him to develop these strategies.

Adult Nonfiction Modernize your Job Search Letters eBook Wendy Enelow

Based on today's real-world job search trends, Modernize Your Resume shows job seekers how to craft a winning resume to meet the complexities of today's highly competitive and technologically driven employment market. Readers will learn to:

  • Write tight, lean, clean, and laser-focused content to keep readers engaged.
  • Integrate keywords that are vital to being found online.
  • Capture attention with a distinctive design.
  • Understand how to use today s modern resume for person-to-person job search as well as electronic, digital, and mobile search technologies.
Adult Nonfiction Switchers eBook Dr. Dawn Graham Don't settle . . . SUCCEED in the right career! Are you stuck in an unsatisfying job? In the wrong profession? An industry that just isn't a fit? Get unstuck! Land a new career—one you're genuinely passionate about. Switchers helps you realize that dream. Written by celebrated career coach and psychologist Dr. Dawn Graham, the book provides proven strategies that will get you where you want to go. The first step is to recognize that the usual rules and job search tools won't work for you. Resumes and job boards were designed with traditional applicants in mind. As a career switcher, you have to go beyond the basics, using tactics tailor-made to ensure your candidacy stands out.
Adult Nonfiction The 2-Hour Job Search eBook Steve Dalton Use the latest technology to target potential employers and secure the first interview—no matter your experience, education, or network—with these revised and updated tools and recommendations.
Adult Nonfiction What Color Is
Your Parachute?
eBook

Richad N. Bolles & Katharine Brooks

In today’s challenging job-market, as recent grads face a shifting economic landscape and seek work that pays and inspires, as workers are laid off mid-career, and as people search for an inspiring work-life change, the time-tested advice of What Color Is Your Parachute? is needed more than ever. This completely updated edition features the latest resources, strategies, and perspectives on today’s job market, revealing surprising advice on what works—and what doesn’t—so you can focus your efforts on tactics that yield results. 
Spanish eBooks on Overdrive
Adult Nonfiction Mitos y verdades en la búsqueda laboral eBook Martha Alles Buscar trabajo es un trabajo muy importante para lo cual no estamos suficientemente preparados. Normalmente el proceso se encara sin contar con demasiada experiencia ni capacitación ya que, en general, las escuelas y universidades tampoco enseñan cómo hacerlo.
Adult Nonfiction Lo que nunca te contaron sobre cómo buscar trabajo eBook Francisco Fernández Yuste  Este libro es una brújula en la búsqueda de empleo, una guía práctica y amena que te servirá tanto si trabajas como si no. En él se hace un recorrido paso a paso por cada fase del proceso de selección de candidatos, contado en el lenguaje de todos los días, con reflexiones muy interesantes y ejercicios prácticos. Un ensayo para leer del tirón y consultar después una y otra vez, un básico indispensable en la librería de cualquier trabajador o aspirante a serlo.
Spanish Print Books
Adult Nonfiction El Que Busca Encuentra Book Jacqueline Jardel Aquí te diré cómo venderte como el mejor candidato, y lo más importante: cómo manejar tus expectativas, tu autoestima y tu seguridad durante todo el proceso, además de ayudarte a elegir: Cuál es la mejor estrategia para encontrar trabajo, cómo hacer un Currículum Vitae que realmente venda, cómo hacer una carta de presentación, una guía completa de cómo prepararte antes, durante y después de la entrevista, cómo negociar tu salario, cómo renunciar, consejos para tus primeros 30 días de trabajo y más. Imagina el trabajo de tus sueños, un trabajo que te apasiona, un trabajo que te hace levantarte feliz, que te reta, en el que tienes reconocimiento y crecimiento, que te motiva a ser mejor y que te remunera como mereces. Todo esto es posible, el que busca encuentra, yo te diré dónde, cuándo, cómo y con quién.

 

Volunteer