Wilkes Appalachian Regional Library COVID-19 Response: Home

Access to Ancestry for your genealogical research is now available from home with your library card number and pin number.

Get eaudiobooks and eBooks from your library from Overdrive and NCLive.

If you're working on genealogy research from home, you can access resources available through HeritageQuest any time with your library card.

This downloadable eBook collection of fiction and nonfiction titles is curated from North Carolina publishers who encourage you to see what's in season, learn something local, and find something novel!

Sometimes we do judge a book by its cover. This is a collection of covers we especially liked (https://arlibrary.libguides.com/judgingcovers). Maybe one will spark your interest, too. Click on the images to go right into the catalog where you can place a hold.

Learn a new language or polish your skills with Mango Languages.

The NC Kids Digital Library is now available to all library card holders in North Carolina. Select Appalachian Regional Library and sign in with your library card, StudentAccess #, or your lunch # to get access to more than 19,800 eBooks, 5,200 audiobooks, and 1,100 streaming videos; 1,600+ titles available at any time with no wait list.

This online collection of ebooks, newspapers, journals, magazines, films, and more is available to all library card holders. If you are accessing these resources from home, you will need to select your library (Appalachian Regional Library) and enter your library card number to access some NC Live offerings.

Digital audiobooks from NCLive.

Downloadable eBooks, including academic works, reference books, test preparation books, public domain works (including classics), and more.

Stream a variety of content created and distributed through PBS. Series include Frontline, American Experience, Nova, and Masterpiece Theater.

eBooks and audiobooks available through Overdrive and via the Libby app on your devices. You can download Libby from your App Store. A special partnership with our neighboring Northwestern Regional Library system makes available downloadable eBooks and audiobooks from that library system for cardholders of Appalachian Regional Library.

Appalachian Regional Library is happy to offer unlimited, no-holds access to thousands of popular magazines.

Using their StudentAccess cards, Ashe, Watauga, and Wilkes County Schools students may check out up to 10 books or audiobooks from the library. Titles are checked out for three weeks and can be renewed. Late fees are not charged on Student Access accounts, but you are responsible for lost or damaged books. Students also have access to Overdrive, NCKids, and NCLive using their student ID (lunch) numbers.

Need homework help? Check out the Testing and Education Reference Center for help with math, English, test prep, and more!

Browse these virtual displays of printed books and eBooks from our collections based on monthly themes.

The Appalachian Regional Library System sponsors Little FREE Libraries in Ashe, Watauga, and Wilkes counties. There is also a Big Free Library at the Ronda Town Hall.

StoryWalks take the joy of reading outdoors! Experience a story as you take a stroll or explore a park. Story boards also contain literacy tips for caregivers.

The Wilkes County Public Library Mystery Book Club is designed for people who love mysteries, thrillers, and true crime but who also don't have time to attend regular, face-to-face book club meetings. Each month a new book will be selected for the group to read. Each month's book selection will be posted on our Wilkes Mystery Book Club page at https://arlibrary.libguides.com/wilkesmysterybookclub, along with instructions on how to get a copy of the book. A Discussion will be created for each book in our GoodReads group (https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/1066171-wilkes-mystery-book-club), and you can participate any time that's convenient for you.

Sign up for for the Wowbrary Newsletter for weekly updates on new books,CDs, DVDs, ebooks, eaudiobooks, and other items added to the ARL catalog.

Begin any research project at the Library! Includes the Health and Wellness Information Center, Consumer Health Database, Consumer Reports, and NC Health Info Guide.

Provides educational games and activities for school-aged children. The games on the website are organized into grade levels as well as into subject categories.

This educational publisher is providing free access to its ebooks on illness prevention and facts, with titles on vaccines, epidemiology, and past outbreaks.

Education companies offering free subscriptions due to school closings.

Take Home Safaris via Facebook Live events at the zoo.

Resources for exploring Colonial Williamsburg from home.

Free Coronavirus Relief Packs are not available for Preschool. Download includes worksheets, activities, songs, and videos.

Educational games for kids of all ages.

From Microsoft Office and email, to reading, math, and more—GCFLearnFree.org offers more than 200 topics, including more than 7,000 lessons, more than 1,000 videos, and more than 50 interactives and games, completely free.

Learn more about George Washington and life during the 18th century.

Dolly Parton reads some of her favorite books from her Imagination Library, which sends free books to kids under five.

Tons of magical treats - how-to videos, quizzes, puzzles, and more for long-time fans and newcomers.

The place for children of all ages to play games and discover new jokes, surveys, answers to science questions, and fun crafts and recipes.

Information and resources to help you continue teaching and learning during school closures.

Justice Sandra Day O'Connor founded iCivics in 2009 to reimagine civic education. Games transform abstract concepts into real-life problems. Young people learn how government works by experiencing it.

A reading comprehension resource for elementary students and teachers.

Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom.

Homeschool blog with tons of educational activities to keep kids busy.

Links to live author read-alouds and other great kids' activities.

Over 13,000 free audiobooks for anyone to listen to, on their computers, iPods or other mobile device, or to burn onto a CD.

Ashe County Public Library has put together a list of things to do while you're stuck at home for all ages.

Carnegie Hall’s Musical Explorers curriculum is designed to connect children in grades K–2 to rich and diverse musical communities as they build fundamental music skills through listening, singing, and moving to songs from all over the world.

Find amazing facts about animals, science, history and geography, along with fun competitions, games and more.

NCLearn @ Home is a gathering place for NC DNCR online content and educational resources in one place for teachers, students, parents, and anyone needing enriching experiences, regardless of their location. Here you’ll find lesson plans, educator resources, State Library and State Archives collections, and virtual assistance from state librarians and educators, as well as offerings from our state’s natural and cultural institutions.

Educational games and videos from Curious George, Wild Kratts and other PBS KIDS shows.

Access to over 60,000 free ebooks.

This is a library of resources for kids, families, teachers, and librarians to make sure that reading & learning can happen anywhere this spring.

Even when schools are closed, you can keep the learning going with these special cross-curricular journeys. Every day includes four separate learning experiences, each built around a thrilling, meaningful story or video. Kids can do them on their own, with their families, or with their teachers. Just find your grade level and let the learning begin!

Home of all things Dr. Seuss. Includes resources for parents and educators.

Smithsonian Learning Lab puts the treasures of the world's largest museum, education, and research complex within reach. The Lab is a free, interactive platform for discovering millions of authentic digital resources, creating content with online tools, and sharing in the Smithsonian's expansive community of knowledge and learning.

Reading, phonics & math - educational games, movies, books, songs, and more for children K-3

The SAG-AFTRA Foundation’s award-winning children’s literacy website, Storyline Online, streams videos featuring celebrated actors reading children’s books alongside creatively produced illustrations. Readers include Viola Davis, Chris Pine, Lily Tomlin, Kevin Costner, Annette Bening, James Earl Jones, Betty White and dozens more.

Storytime Underground's purpose is to provide resources and guidance to other library and early childhood education professionals in promoting this stance. This Facebook group also posts info and links to online story times.

Features animal games, music created from animal voices, a reference section about all the animals in Switch Zoo, lesson plans, and poetry, stories and artwork.

FREE program that helps you build anything you can think of! This is a great way to learn coding and watch your ideas come to 3-D life!

UNC-TV and the NC Department of Public Instruction are partnering to support school-age children learning at home by providing free, curriculum-informed, over-the-air content that is widely accessible to students—especially those with limited or no internet access.

Walkabouts are more than brain breaks! Our web-based lessons activate Pre-K through 2nd grade curriculum with fun, standards-based movement.