Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mental Health eBooks and Resources Watauga County Public Library: Inclusivity Grant

Electronic Resources for Mental Health

Inclusivity Grant

This grant addresses the issue of community inclusion for those with mental health challenges and brings NAMI into partnership with area organizations to establish ‘welcoming communites’ throughout the region. The literature on Community Inclusion states that “People don’t need more referrals to mental health services, they need referrals to life and community”  (Rapp, 1996).

Our primary partner in this grant, The Appalachian Regional Library, has already set a precedence for community inclusion through prior initiatives, particularly the Good Neighbor Project in which they engaged NAMI High Country and well as other partners, and brought authors together with fun activities to our
communities.

undefinedundefinedundefinedundefined

 

Mental Health Titles

This special collection of Mental Health titles was funded by NAMI-NC, the NCDHHS, and SAMHSA

                                               Click here to learn how to obtain a library card and download e books 

                                                                                  Fiction

Genre

Title

 

Format

Author

Book summary

Psychological Fiction

After Birth

Title details for After Birth by Elisa Albert - Available

Eaudiobook, Ebook, print

Elisa Albert

In snowy upstate New York, a struggling mother of a one-year-old and a nine-months-pregnant woman who is new to town become comrades-in-arms. 

Satirical Fiction, Literary Fiction, Books to Movies,

Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk

Title details for Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk by Ben Fountain - Available

Audiobook, Ebook, print, DVD, Eaudiobook

Ben Fountain, Oliver Wyman

Asked to be a part of the Dallas Cowboys' halftime show on Thanksgiving, Specialist Billy Lynn, one of the eight surviving men of Bravo Squad, finds his life forever changed by this event that will help him understand difficult truths about himself. 

Multiple Perspectives, Women's Lives and Relationships 

Everything Here Is Beautiful: A Novel

Eaudiobook,

Ebook, print, Audiobook

Mira T. Lee

The bond between a responsible, self-contained older sister and her mentally ill, impulsive younger sister is shaped and tested over years marked by the loss of their mother, an impetuous first marriage, a fling that results in the birth of a baby and painful sacrifices.

Literary Fiction, Psychological Fiction

The Marriage Plot: A Novel (unabridged)

Eaudiobook, Ebook, print

Jeffrey Eugenides, David Pittu

Madeleine Hanna breaks out of her straight-and-narrow mold when she enrolls in a semiotics course and falls in love with charismatic loner Leonard Morten, a time which is complicated by the resurfacing of man who is obsessed with the idea that Madeleine is his destiny. 

Adult Fiction for Young Adults, Psychological Fiction 

The Shock of the Fall: A Novel

Eaudiobook,

Ebook, print, Audiobook

Nathan Filer

Struggling to understand what happened to his brother years earlier after they both snuck out of the house during the middle of the night, Matthew believes he has found a way to bring his brother back by going off his meds, in this beautifully complex story that exposes the awful parts of life and the darkness of the heart.

Romance, Young Adult Fiction

All the Bright Places

All the Bright Places Movie Tie-In Edition

Eaudiobook,

Ebook, print, Audiobook

Jennifer Niven

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death. Every day he thinks of ways he might kill himself, but every day he also searches for- and manages to find- something to keep him here, and alive, and awake. Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her small Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister's recent death. 

Romance, Young Adult Fiction

Violet y Finch (All the Bright Places- Spanish)

All the Bright Places Movie Tie-In Edition

Ebook

Jennifer Niven

Esta es la historia de una chica que aprende a vivir de un chico que pretende morir; de dos jóvenes que se encuentran y dejan de contar los días para empezar a vivirlos.

Autobiographical Fiction, Literary Fiction, Modern Classics, Psychological Fiction, Books to Movies

The Bell Jar: A Novel

By Sylvia Plath The Bell Jar (Faber Firsts) (80th Birthday ed) [Paperback]

Eaudiobook,

Ebook, Audiobook

Sylvia Plath

The American poet's semi-autobiographical account of Esther Greenwood, a talented writer who struggles for intimacy and meaning in her artist life. 

Comic and Graphic Books, Self-Improvement

Marbles: Mania, Depression, Michelangelo, and Me: A Graphic Memoir

Ebook

Ellen Forney

Shortly before her thirtieth birthday, Forney was diagnosed with bipolar disorder. Flagrantly manic and terrified that medications would cause her to lose creativity, she began a years-long struggle to find mental stability while retaining her passions and creativity. 

Psychological Fiction, Realistic Fiction

Challenger Deep

Eaudiobook, Ebook, print, Audiobook

Neal Shusterman, Michael Curran-Dorsano

A captivating novel about mental illness that lingers long beyond the last page. A teenage boy struggles with schizophrenia. 

Books to Movies, Humorous Stories, Realistic Fiction 

It's Kind of a Funny Story

Audiobook, print, DVD, Eaudiobook

Ned Vizzini, Robert Fass

A humorous account of a New York City teenager's battle with depression and his time spent in a psychiatric hospital.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Realistic Fiction Am I Normal Yet? Book Jacket Print Holly Bourne
Evie wants to be normal. Now she's almost off her meds and at a college where no one knows her as the-girl-who-went-nuts, there's only one thing left on her list... But relationships can mess with anyone's head - something Evie's new friends know only too well. But if Evie won't tell them her secrets, how can they stop her making a huge mistake?

 

Nonfiction

Genre

Title

 

Format

Author

Book summary

Autobiography, Literary Criticism, Psychology

The Collected Schizophrenias: Essays

Title details for The Collected Schizophrenias by Esmé Weijun Wang - Available

Ebook, print

Esmé Weijun Wang

An intimate, moving book written with the immediacy and directness of one who still struggles with the effects of mental and chronic illness. Schizophrenia is not a single unifying diagnosis, and Esme Weijun Wang writes not just to her fellow members of the "collected schizophrenias" but to those who wish to understand it as well. 

Autobiography, Psychology

The Noonday Demon: An Atlas Of Depression (abridged)

Eaudiobook, Ebook, print

Andrew Solomon, Andrew Solomon

With uncommon humanity, candor, wit, and erudition, National Book Award winner Andrew Solomon takes the listener on a journey of incomparable range and resonance into the most pervasive of family secrets. This book examines depression in personal, cultural, Drawing on his own struggles with the illness and interviews with fellow sufferers, doctors and scientists, policymakers and politicians, drug designers and philosophers, Solomon reveals the subtle complexities and sheer agony of the disease.

Biography

Lo que no tiene nombre

Lo que no tiene nombre (Spanish Edition) by [Piedad Bonnett]

Ebook

Piedad Bonnett

Es el modo que encontró una madre de enfrentarse a la muerte de su hijo.

Autobiography, Self-Improvement

Reasons to Stay Alive

Reasons to Stay Alive Hardcover – March 5, 2015

Eaudiobook, Ebook, print, Audiobook

Matt Haig

Like nearly one in five people, Matt Haig

Family and Relationships, Nonfiction, Psychology The Campus Cure: A Parent's Guide to Mental Health and Wellness for College Title details for The Campus Cure by Marcia Morris MD - Available Ebook

 

Marcia Morris MD
This volume is targeted toward parents of college-aged children facing mental health challenges. Morris (Univ. of Florida) presents 12 chapters organized into sections that explore problems, pressures, and crises. The problems section includes separate chapters on anxiety, depression, substance use disorders, and academic failure to thrive; other issues the text tackles include perfectionism, financial stress, sexual assault and intimate partner violence, and eating disorders. Each chapter opens with a case study describing a student in distress, provides an overview of the disorder or issue, and offers tangible suggestions for parents. . . What makes this book exceptionally valuable is its intended audience. Though faculty and staff can benefit from this resource, its primary focus is parents, and it provides practical guidance to those worrying about their children. Much the way Coburn and Treeger's iconic Letting Go provided a road map for parents sending their children off to college, this text provides foundational information about the mental health issues common to today’s college students.
Sociology, Young Adult Nonfiction My Anxiety Handbook: Getting Back on Track Title details for My Anxiety Handbook by Sue Knowles - Available Ebook Sue Knowles, Bridie Gallagher, Phoebe McEwen, et. al. Helping young people with anxiety learn to recognise and manage their symptoms, this anxiety survival guide teaches 12 to 18 year olds how they can overcome their biggest worries.Showing that anxiety is a normal human emotion that many people face, this book helps young people understand the ins and outs of their own anxiety and helps them to challenge the difficult patterns they may get into. Co-written with a college student who has experienced anxiety herself, it is a relatable and straightforward guide. As well as providing tried-and-tested advice and exercises that are proven to reduce feelings of anxiety, it includes recovery stories from young people who have managed their symptoms successfully.With practical chapters on sleep, exam stress, transitions, and seeking extra help, this is a go-to guide for any tween, teen or young person living with anxiety.
  Calm: Working Through Life's Daily Stresses to Find a Peaceful Centre Print Fearne Cotton In today's always-on world, for many of us it seems impossible to relax, take time out or mute the encircling 'noise'. It is easy to feel trapped in this frenzied state of mind: we are surrounded by negative stories in the press, weighed down by pressures from work, family life or school and subject to constant scrutiny under the all-seeing eye of social media. As a result, mental health illnesses are on the rise in every age group, and more of us than ever before yearn for silence, peace and calm. CALM is Fearne's mission to find the simple things that can inch us away from stress and over to the good stuff. Including expert advice, conversations with wise friends from all walks of life, easy ideas to try, activities to complete - and the little things that have made a difference to her own, sometimes-bumpy life - this book is a friendly reminder that Calm is a place that exists in us all, we just have to find our way back to it.
  A Mindfulness Guide for the Frazzled Image of item Print Ruby Wax Five hundred years ago no-one died of stress: we have invented this concept and now we let it rule us. Using hilarious personal anecdotes from her experiences in 'celebrity land' as well as insightful tales from her own battle with depression, Ruby Wax introduces a scientific solution to modern problems: mindfulness. Outrageously witty, smart and accessible, Ruby Wax shows ordinary people how and why to change for good. With practical exercises to incorporate into your daily life, and a step-by-step six-week course based on her studies at Oxford University, A Mindfulness Guide for the Frazzled is the only guide you need for a happier, calmer life.
  My Mad Dad: The Diary of an Unravelling Mind Print Robyn Hollingworth  
  Reasons to Stay Alive & Notes on a Nervous Planet Title details for Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig - Available Ebook Matt Haig Like nearly one in five people, Matt Haig suffers from depression. Reasons to Stay Alive is Matt's inspiring account of how, minute by minute and day by day, he overcame the disease with the help of reading, writing, and the love of his parents and his girlfriend (and now-wife), Andrea. And eventually, he learned to appreciate life all the more for it.
  You’re Looking at Me Like I Live Here and I Don’t DVD    

 Spanish

Genre

Title

 

Format

Author

Book summary

Comic and Graphic Books, Self-Improvement

Majareta

Print

Ellen Forney

Poco después de su treinta cumpleaños, Ellen Forney descubre que padece trastorno bipolar. Preocupada por cómo la medicación afectará a su creatividad y a su forma de vida, comienza una larga lucha en busca de la estabilidad mental sin perder su identidad. Para ello, Ellen encontrará inspiración y consuelo en la vida y obra de otros célebres artistas locos que sufrieron trastornos del estado de ánimo, como Van Gogh, Georgia OKeeffe o Sylvia Plath. Con una narración chispeante, un estilo audaz y un humor inteligente, Majareta nos propone una visión sorprendente acerca de los efectos de un trastorno mental en el trabajo de un artista, sin dejar de preguntarse si la enfermedad mental es un castigo o podría considerarse un don.

 

Todo Empieza Aqui

Todo empieza aquí / Start Where You Are: A Journal for Self-Exploration: Un diario para conocerte mejor (Obras diversas) (Spanish Edition)

Print

Meera Leel Patel

 

 

Bienestar Emocional

Bienestar emocional / Emotional Wellness: Superar el miedo, el odio y los celos con la energia creativa (Spanish Edition)

Print

Osho

Las emociones, los pensamientos y las expresiones son una misma energía, solo que están dirigidos hacia la periferia, hacia la circunferencia y no hacia el centro. Cuanto más cerca estás de la circunferencia, más lejos te encuentras de ti mismo. Para reencontrarte tienes que usar la misma energía. Por ello, la única meta en el mundo de todo ser inteligente debería ser conocerse a sí mismo; de lo contrario, podrías conocer el mundo entero y aun así seguirías desconociendo lo que más íntimamente te afecta, tu propia naturaleza.

 

La Voz de Tu Alma

La Voz de tu Alma (Spanish Edition)

Print

Lain Garcia Calvo

 

 

El Pensamiento del Dia

 

Print

Max R. Schmidt

El Pensamiento del Día” tiene la mira de ayudar a los miembros de Alcohólicos Anónimos en su programa de vivir un día cada vez Ha sido formulado para aquellos que deseen iniciar cada día con unos minutos de pensamiento, meditación y oración, y para que compartan sus puntos de vista con sus compañeros. Estas lecturas diarias encierran la mayor parte del material empleado en el folleto “Para Alcohólicos Solamente” y demás literatura de A.A., así como algunos pasajes del Libro Grande Alcohólicos Anónimos. Como base para las meditaciones de este libro, hemos utilizado muchos pasajes del libro “Invocación a Dios”. Tenemos la esperanza de que estas lecturas diarias puedan ayudar a los miembros de Alcohólicos Anónimos a encontrar la fuerza que necesitan para permanecer sobrios cada veinticuatro horas. Si hoy no bebemos esa primera copa, jamás la beberemos, porque siempre es hoy.

Autobiographical Fiction, Literary Fiction, Modern Classics, Psychological Fiction, Books to Movies

La Campana de Cristal

 

Print

Sylvia Plath

Esta es la historia de una chica que tiene todo lo que una joven puede desear en el Nueva York de los años cincuenta: una carrera prometedora, un pretendiente que estudia medicina y toda una vida por delante. Esther Greenwood ha ganado una beca para trabajar en una revista de moda en la gran ciudad y siente que por fin podrá realizar su sueño de ser escritora. Pero entre cócteles, noches de fiesta y pilas de manuscritos descubre una sociedad que repudia las aspiraciones de las mujeres y su vida empieza a desmoronarse. Esther -alter ego de la autora- se encierra en sí misma, como si estuviera atrapada en una campana de cristal: respirando continuamente el mismo aire viciado y sin posibilidad de escapar.

Nonfiction, Self-Improvement Controlar las depresiones Title details for Controlar las depresiones by Humberto García Penedo - Available Ebook Humberto García Penedo Este libro nos aporta la visión del autor, desde su experiencia asistencial, sobre esta problemática de salud que constituyen las depresiones. Este estado emocional no solo tiene identidad propia, sino que aparece asociado a muchos otros problemas de igual naturaleza como son los trastornos cardiovasculares, dermatológicos, artropáticos, afecciones crónicas, alcoholismo y otras toxicomanías, así como al envejecimiento, los eventos vitales de impacto nocivo a la salud, entre los que se encuentran las pérdidas de seres queridos, catástrofes naturales o tecnológicas, complicando la situación de los afectados y que requieren de una respuesta efectiva para lograr la recuperación integral y retomar el camino hacia el bienestar humano. Está dirigido a todo aquel que se interese por conocer sobre este estado de salud en cualquier persona, que sea un familiar o amigo. También para conocerse a sí mismo.

Read and Shares

Below are titles that are Read and Shares.  These books will be discussed later via programming in the fall.  If you are unable to get a copy from the library, please email wataugareference@gmail.com for copy.