Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ashe County Public Library Online

wifi-ebook-research-banner

Many of the resources listed below require your library card number and pin number. Unless you have changed it, your pin number should be the last four digits of the phone number on your library account. If you have trouble accessing or using any of these resources, please call us at 336.846.2041 x111 or email us.

Wi-Fi

Wi-Fi is available in the library parking lot 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Select the Library Guest network, then accept the Terms and Conditions to complete your login.

INFORMATION

Librarians will answer questions, locate information, help you navigate our online collections, and more whenever they are available. Call 336.846.2041 x111 or email us for assistance.

EBOOKS, AUDIOBOOKS, & MEDIA

  • OverDrive from Appalachian Regional Library Appalachian Regional Library makes both eBooks and audiobooks available through Overdrive.
  • Libby, by OverDrive Libby is an app available from Overdrive that can be used to access ARL's Overdrive collection. Click the link to learn more about Libby and download the app to your device.
  • Overdrive from Northwest Regional Library A special partnership with our neighboring Northwestern Regional Library system (Alleghany, Stokes, Surry, and Yadkin counties) makes available downloadable eBooks and audiobooks from that library system for cardholders of Appalachian Regional Library (Ashe, Watauga, and Wilkes counties). Click above to access these collections; sign in with your library card number as an Appalachian Regional Library user.
  • NC Kids Digital Library NC Kids Digital Library offers e-books, audiobooks, streaming videos, and Read-Alongs.  This collection was specifically designed for youth and includes picture books, youth fiction, youth nonfiction, young adult, and more. NC Kids Digital Library is sponsored by NCPLDA: NC Public Library Directors Association, NCGA: NC General Assembly, with assistance from the State Library of North Carolina and supported by an IMLS federal LSTA grant.
  • Kanopy Enjoy critically-acclaimed movies, inspiring documentaries, award-winning foreign films, a collection just for kids, all of the Great Courses, and more!

GENEALOGY

  • Ancestry Library Edition Search billions of records and discover your family's history. 
  • Digital NC Explore original materials from 273 libraries, museums, and archives across North Carolina, including a photographic collection from Ashe County Public Library.

EVERYTHING ELSE

  • NC Live can be accessed anywhere you have an internet connection. With content from more than 50,000 newspapers, journals, magazines, encyclopedias, ebooks, e-audio, and streaming video titles, NC Live offers users the highest quality, most authoritative, subscription resources in the information marketplace.

READING

  • 2021 Ashe County Reading Challenge The library sponsors a yearly reading challenge for all ages for two very important reasons: to promote literacy in our community and have fun doing it. We hope you'll join us on this literary voyage!
  • Arly Edition of the Ashe County Reading Challenge We are committed to helping kids discover their love of reading. We created the Arly Edition of the 2021 Reading Challenge to encourage kids and families to read widely throughout the year.