Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ashe County Public Library Online

Resources for Home

LIBRARY DIGITAL COLLECTIONS
Homegrown eBooks holds a collection of more than 3,700 books from North Carolina publishers, including popular and scholarly nonfition, novels by well-known NC authors, and award-winning short fiction and poetry.
NC Kids Digital Library offers access to over 22,000 ebooks, 5,000 audiobooks, and 1,200 videos specially selected for kids & young adults. This collection has many always available books that can be read immediately. In addition, you can place holds on books that you would like to read in the Libby app.
Overdrive offers audiobooks and ebooks that can be downloaded to or streamed on your device. We also have access to Overdrive by Northwestern Regional Library.
RBDigital offers downloadable magazines.
ONLINE STORYTIMES
Book Trust hosts free online books and videos, games, quzzes, illustration tutorials, and prizes to win.
Brightly Storytime hosts read aloud storytimes of new and exciting picture books.
Disney's Storytime with... Playlist on Youtube features books from Disney preoperties read by some of your favorite celebrities.
During Goodnight with Dolly, Dolly Parton reads some of her favorite books from her Imagination Library, which sends free books to kids under five. If you haven't signed up for this wonderful program, visit our friends at Imagination Ashe for more information.
Three times a week LeVar Burton will be reading books for children, young adults, and adults on his Twitter feed.
Grace Lin is posting readings from her books on YouTube.
Neil Gaiman has posts of The Graveyard Book and Coraline at Mousecircus.com.
Space Station Explorers features astronauts reading stories from space.
Storyline Online features stories read by some of your favorite actors funded by the SAG-AFTRA Foundation.
FOR ALL AGES
ABDO, the educational publisher, is providing free access to its ebooks on illness prevention and facts, with titles on vaccines, epidemiology, and past outbreaks.
BookBrowse holds reviews, "beyond the book" articles, discussions, book club inspiration, new and notable books, read alike suggestions, and book browsing.
Harry Potter at Home has tons of magical treats - how-to videos, quizzes, puzzles, and more for long-time fans and newcomers.
MACKINVia features over 9,000 books. Books can be searched by category, publication date, reading level, and more.
Open eBooks has offered Appalachian Regional Library users access to their online catalog for children and teens.
  • Email arly@arlibrary.org for a personalized access code. Be sure to include the age/grade level you want to be able to access.
  • Receive your personalized access code & PIN via email
  • Visit the Open eBooks catalog
  • Click "Sign In" at the top of the page, then "Log in with FirstBook"
  • Enter the access code & PIN emailed to you by arly@arlibrary.org
Project Gutenberg offers access to over 60,000 free ebooks.
Stimola Literary Studio is presenting live stream events for kids, tweens, and teens by professional authors and illustrators.
FOR KIDS
Audible, the audiobook company owned by Amazon, is offering access to audiobooks for all ages in English, Spanish, French, Italian, and Japanese.
Children's Poetry Archive lets kids listen to the world's best poetry read out loud.
Epic!, a digital book lending platform for kids 12 and under has 35,000 books. Sign in with our class code: ljx1804. Questions? Email arly@arlibrary.org
The Fable Cottage hosts videos of French fairy tales read to practice your language skills. Stories are presented in French with optional English translation and slow audio from a native French speaker.
KidLit TV gives kids a chance to explore the world of children's literature with stories from authors, videos to teach kids how to draw like their favorite illustrators, read aloud videos, crafts, and book trailers.
Read and explore with Jack and Annie on a Magic Tree House Home Adventure.
Tumblebooks offers a new, animated, talking book every day.
WITH THE LIBRARY
Join us for Maker Monday at home on Monday afternoons. We'll explore STEAM with things we have at home!
If you love to build, take part in our Builders Challenge which runs from 3:30 Wednesday until 3:30 the next Wednesday in the comfort of your own home. Use things you have lying around your house like blocks, legos, boxes, cans, pipe cleaners, whatever it takes!
Star Wars fans will love May the Force Be with You, a collection of snacks, crafts, games, books, and online storytimes from Star Wars celebrities.
ARTS & CRAFTS
Knoxville's Dogwood Arts Festival has gone virtual this year.
Doodles with Mo Willems features Author/illustrator and Kennedy Center Artist in Residence will post Doodles with Mo on the Kennedy Center's YouTube page at 1 pm every weekday.
Draw Every Day with author/illustrator Jarrett J. Krosoczka on YouTube at 2 pm every weekday.
Easy, Peasy, and Fun has some great craft ideas for kids. Check out their spring activities.
50 Quick and Easy Crafts for Kids from Happiness is Homemade.
STEM ACTIVITIES
Construction Activities for kids from preK to 5th grade from construction company BigRentz.
BreakoutEDU is hosting a live breakout session each weekday at 2pm. Participate to win something for yourself and something for your favorite class or library.
Busy Toddler has ideas for Recycled STEM building for all ages.
Build with this list of building activities using things you have laying around the house from FunLittles
Make a goldifsh pulley with instructions from Left Brain, Craft Brain and check out their collection of more than 50 engineering projects
Watch Lego master builders make and dominate challenges on the Lego YouTube channel
Get cool ideas for challenges, games, and more at Lego Let's Build Together
Little Bins for Little Hands has all sorts of STEM projects including our favorite slime recipes, Lego challenges, and seasonal activites. Here's a collection of structure bulding ideas. Check out these structure building ideas.
Learn about math and science concepts from Kindergarten to 6th grade as you explore the world in MathWorld and ScienceWorld.
Check out NC Science Festival for an archive of virtual events.
COMPUTER SKILLS
ABCYa helps elementary age kids learn keyboarding skills with games like Keyboard Zoo, Typing Rockets, and Cup Stack Typing.
Practice your mousing skills with Mousercise.
Typing Games Zone includes Keyboard Builder, Speed Typing Jump and Run, Mavis Typing Tomb Adventure and more to teach kids typing skills.
CODING
Codecademy is a free coding learning platform with self-paced lessons.
Crunchzilla's Code Monster teaches Javascipt coding through lessons.
Code.org is an organization that provides free online coding classes for students of all ages. Students can learn to program while completing online modules. Watch this Intro to Code video for a sneak peek of what you can learn.
Create stories, games, and animations with Scratch from the minds at MIT.
​MATH
H.I.P. Pocket Change includes fun money facts and games for children from the US Mint. This site also provides financial literacy resources for parents & teachers to use with children.
The Mint teaches kids about earning, saving, spending, and giving with activities, challenges, and calculators.
Money Confident Kids provides five lessons for a stronger financial education for kids aged 8-1
Pretty Penny is an industrious girl who finds ways to earn and save money. This website includes information about her books, coloring pages and crafts, and the Pretty Penny movie.
Treasury Direct teaches kids about debt, treasury securities, and bonds. Enjoy videos, games, money math, and information.
FOR ALL AGES
Berlin Philharmonic's Digital Concert Hall features recordings of past performances.
PBS is offering broadway plays and documentaries for free with new recordings being released on a regular basis. Find information and links in this Broadway World article.
Film buffs will never be bored with the collection of classic, independent and world cinema through Kanopy, which also features a platform specifically for kids.
Enjoy nightly streams of the Met Opera performing some of the most popular operas.
Enjoy ballet and opera performances by London's Royal Opera House.
Smithsonian Libraries has created digital jigsaw puzzles from some of their pieces in the collection.
The livestream page of the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra features the finale of BeethovenFest.
Vienna State Opera hosts free recordings of Opera's recorded on their stage.
ESCAPE ROOMS
Help the princess turned servant find her happy ending in Cinderella Escapes.
Escape the Mummy's Curse in this fun escape room created by Salmond Library Services.
A Youth Services Librarian in McMurray, PA created this awesome Harry Potter Escape Room.
A librarian in Abingdon, PA made this Pete the Cat Digital Escape Room.
The Cotsen Children's Library at Princeton University created a Sherlock Holmes Escape Room.
Can you Survive the Titanic! in this escape room geared for older tweens and up?
KIDS
Amazon has "free for all" shows for kids up to 11 years old.
Kanopy Kids is a collection of movies and shows with unlimited plays. Explore enriching, educational and entertaining films and TV series.
PBS Kids offers entertainment and educational resources including games, videos, and activities.
TEENS
Nick Hern Books, theatre performers and performing rights agents, is offering access to their plays in the Play Group.
Enjoy bookish discussions provided by Literary Hub's new Virtual Book Channel.
ADULTS
Episodes of Austin City Limits are available to stream including B. B. King, Tom Waits, Willie Nelson, Run the Jewels, Billie Eilish, and more.
Common Sense Media provides ratings for entertainment sources including books, movies, TV, apps, and games with families in mind.
Free shows on HBO (click free episodes in the top right corner) including fan favorites The Sopranos, Barry, and The Wire.
Watch the New York Family History webinar series.
Nick Hern Books, theatre performers and performing rights agents, is offering access to their plays in the Play Group.
Enjoy bookish discussions provided by Literary Hub's new Virtual Book Channel.
 
YOGA
Core Power Yoga is offering access to some of their workouts with new videos every week.
Cosmic Kids Yoga features videos in yoga, mindfulness, and relaxation created especially for kids.
PBS presents Yoga in Practice a thirteen-part series led by master instructor Stacey MIllner-Collins.
"Find what feels good" with Yoga with Adriene, which features a catalog of videos and new videos uploaded regularly.
MINDFULNESS & MEDITATION
Calm.com is currently offering free meditations and classes.
Headspace has curated a special meditation program on their website with even more options in the app, available on Google Play and the App Store.
Mindful.org has meditation practices online including a 3-part Focused Attention MeditationWalking Meditation, and Loving-Kindness Meditation.
Katie Sherrer of Stories, Songs, and Stretches has created two YouTube playlists: Mindfulness & Movement for Kids and Mindful Movement for Adults.
Smiling Mind's Thrive Inside features mindfulness activities for schools, homes, and work.
Dan Harris, self-proclaimed fidgety skeptic and author of Ten Percent Happier, has shared a five-minute "How to Meditate" video.
Yoga with Adriene features Guided Meditations on her YouTube channel, including Resolve to Evolve and 7 Minute Meditation to Start Your Day.
GET MOVING
Debbie Doo Kids TV shares videos of songs, games, and dances for younger kids.
GoNoodle inspires kids to be active and mindful with a wide range of offerings that appeal to kids' different ages, interests, skills, and abilities. Play these movement games as a family for extreme fun!
GROOV3DANCE creates choreography-based videos for living room dance sessions, miin-workouts, and music videos for teens & adults.
The Learning Station has videos for action and learning songs for children's hearts, bodies, and minds.
Move to Learn has a collection of videos for students from pre-K to 12th grade to shake out their energy and refocus.
Visit Ashe County Public Library's StoryWalk at Bowie-Segraves Municipal Park beside the library.
LIBRARY RESOURCES
Research your genealogy from home using HeritageQuest. Just sign in with your library card.
You can learn a new language or practice your skills with Transparent Language.
FOR ALL AGES
Codecademy is a free coding learning platform with self-paced lessons.
America's Test Kitchen has a three-week free subscription that grants access to online training for adults and kids.
Code.org is an organization that provides free online coding classes for students of all ages. Students can learn to program while completing online modules.
Encantos combines entertainment, technology, education, and purpose to develop 21st century skills in kids. Encantos also provides learning and scheduling resources for parents/educators.
Great Minds Knowledge on the Go Lessons are daily instructional videos for  English language arts (Grades K–8), math (Grades K–12), and science (Grades 3–5) as well as weekly resources that feature early readers called Geodes® (Grades K–2), plus written materials for math (Grades K–12).
Khan Academy is hosting livestreams on Facebook, YouTube, and Twitter at 12 pm every weekday.
The universe is waiting. Visit NASA.gov for online activities, eBooks, podcasts, and other content.
The National Emergency Library was created by Internet Archive to support remote teaching and learning while schools, training centers, and libraries are closed.
New American History provides free resources to facilitate teaching the past in light of the present.
Quizlet lets users create virtual flashcards that cover a variety of topics
Scholastic Learn at Home gives four learning experiences for in pre-K through 6+ each day.
ELEMENTARY SCHOOL
ABCya gamifies education with learning games for K-6th grade.
Bedtime Math helps you keep children's math skills strong. The site includes activities and videos. A Bedtime Math app is also available on Google Play and the App Store.
The Center for Interactive Learning is offering interactive, live-streamed lessons from 9:30-3:30 EST for students in K-6th grade. If you're not able to make the sessions, you can visit their YouTube.
Dreambox is an adaptive, online K-8th grade math program proven to raise student achievement while supporting informed decision making.
FunBrain features games, videos, books, and more for pre-K to 8th grade.
Lalilo is "the best phonics and comprehension program." They offer personalized exercises in a playful, interactive atmosphere for K-2nd grader learners.
Mathplayground includes math, arcade, and logic games, story math, and math videos for grades 1-6.
Mystery Science is offering their most popular science lessons for kids from Kindergarten to 5th grade for free.
National Geographic Kids includes games, videos, brain boosters, cool stuff and more.
PBS Learning Media offers interactive lesson plans for students from pre-K through high school.
ReadWorks offers authentic & engaging learning for kids from K-12th grade in many topics.
Science Friday is the source for entertaining and educational stories about science, technology, and other cool stuff. Their Educate site features resources for all grade levels.
Scratch lets you program your own interactive stories, games, and animations while learning coding skills. It was specially created for kids 8-16 years old.
Sesame Street offers games videos & activities for preschoolers on their website.
Starfall Education is designed for students in pre-K through 3rd grade.
Switch Zoo Animal Games teaches kids about animals, habitats, and biomes with fun (and funny) games and activities.
Wonderopolis is a place where you can explore the wonders of learning.
MIDDLE SCHOOL
Dreambox is an adaptive, online K-8th grade math program proven to raise student achievement while supporting informed decision making.
FunBrain features games, videos, books, and more for pre-K to 8th grade.
PBS Learning Media offers interactive lesson plans for students from pre-K through high school.
Prodigy is a popular and engaging, curriculum-based math platform that gamifies learning.
ReadWorks offers authentic & engaging learning for kids from K-12th grade in many topics.
Science Friday is the source for entertaining and educational stories about science, technology, and other cool stuff. Their Educate site features resources for all grade levels.
Scratch lets you program your own interactive stories, games, and animations while learning coding skills. It was specially created for kids 8-16 years old.
HIGH SCHOOL
Explore the world of creative writing with The International Writers Program's online courses
PBS Learning Media offers interactive lesson plans for students from pre-K through high school.
ReadWorks offers authentic & engaging learning for kids from K-12th grade in many topics.
Science Friday is the source for entertaining and educational stories about science, technology, and other cool stuff. Their Educate site features resources for all grade levels.
Scratch lets you program your own interactive stories, games, and animations while learning coding skills. It was specially created for kids 8-16 years old.
FOR TEACHERS & PARENTS
All Kids Network provides crafts, worksheets, coloring pages, and more for anyone who works with children.
Arcademic Skill Builders combines academic learning with arcade games for grades 1-6. Free games available.
Lakeshore Learning has over 1,000 free resources for the classroom and home.
SchoolClosures.org has a ton of articles, links, information, and tutoring options for students and their caregivers.
TeacherVision is offering users 999 free credits. Follow the link to sign up.
AQUARIUMS, LIBRARIES, MUSEUMS, PARKS, & ZOOS
Enjoy a virutal tour of Blair Castle in bonny Scotland, where you can see shields and muskets used at the historic Battle of Culloden.
Experience Blarney Castle in County Cork, Ireland with a virtual visit.
Explore the collections of the British Museum.
Watch a safari from the comfort of your home on Cincinatti Zoo & Botanical Garden's Facebook page.
Visit the Cliffs of Moher without leaving your home.
The Country Music Hall of Fame has songwriters sessions, pieces from their archive, and Words & Music (their flagship education program) available online.
Enjoy the African Penguin Cam at the Georgia Aquarium.
Google Arts & Culture has collections of museums, galleries, and institutions around the world.
Greensboro Science Center's Science on the Spot series offers experiences with the center's animals and keepers, at-home science experiments, and adventures in the aquarium.
Discover art from Guggenheim New York, Venice, and Bilbao in their online collection of over 1,700 works.
Explore 500 pieces of art in the digital collection of Africa's largest museum, the Johannesburg Art Gallery.
Take a virtual tour of the Louvre.
Take part in the Metropolitan Museum of Art experience online and see over 200,000 items online. The Met360 project is a series of award-winning videos that captivate the viewer.
Monterey Bay Aquarium offers 10 live cams to choose from.
Visit Paris virtually through 278 exhibits at the Musée de' Orsay.
Museum of Modern Art has some of its most famous pieces online.
Take a tour of NASA's Langley Research Center and Glenn Research Center.
See over 42,000 pieces from Washington D.C.'s National Gallery of Art.
Take a virtual tour of the National Museum of the United States Air Force.
Bring the outside inside with "The Hidden Worlds," a partnership between Google & the National Parks System that follows rangers on a journey most people never see. You can also watch live-streams on the National Park Webcams.
Learn about the women who changed the history of the United States of America with online exhibits at the National Women's History Museum.
Discover New York Public Library's Digital Collection which houses over 889,000 prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
Palace of Versailles is one of the most visited cultural sites in the world. Explore the art and architecture of this former hunting lodge.
Virtually visit Prambanan in Indonesia. The compound consists of 200 Hindu temples.
Take a virtual tour and peruse the online collections of Salvador Dali's Museums.
San Diego Zoo has live cams of many of their animal habitats.
Catch videos of penguins exploring the aquarium, belugas feeding, owls hooting, and live animal hospital adventures at Shedd Aquarium.
Learn the story of America through portraits of people who have shaped its culture with Smithsonian's National Portrait Gallery's online experience.
Explore the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History's exhibits online.
Discover the world of Florence's famous museum, the Uffizi Galleries.
Take a 360 Virtual Tour of the Vatican Museums.
WORKING FROM HOME
Online tools for current events, business and finance can support those working from home. Access newspapers and magazines at NC LIVE, including New York Times and Wall Street Journal. Online tools for business and finance include Morningstar and Reference USA.
Linked in Learning has trainings available to help folks who are new to working from home.
TOOLS FOR GROUP COLLABORATION
There are a few options for small group collaboration available online. These services are not provided by Appalachian Regional Library. Staff members will not be able to offer tech support or in-depth guidance. Please visit each site for information, options, and requirements.
Free Hosted Meeting Platforms:
Personal Video Chat/Conference Solutions:
  • Google Hangouts
  • Skype
  • Facebook Video Chat, video calling feature available through the Facebook Messenger App
  • FaceTime, an Apple software, available for iPhone, iPad, and iPod Touch users.
TIPS FOR WORKING FROM HOME
LinkedIn Learning has Resources for Those New to Working Remotely
Harvard Business presents 3 Tips to Avoid Burnout When Working from Home
Marie Kondo's Best Advice for Turning Your Home Into a Workspace Without Losing Your Mind​
NPR's 8 Tips To Make Working From Home Work For You
20 Tips for Working from Home by PCMag
Tips for Working Remotely from Home - With or Without Kids by Total Wellness
WRITING
Authors Everywhere is a YouTube with workshops, readings, activities, art projects, writing games, writing advice and more created and run by children's book writers and illustrators.
In addition to their popular webcast, the BiblioFiles from Princeton University offers original author interviews from favorites like Philip Pullman, Lois Lowry, Gary Schmidt, Jewell Parker Rhodes, and many more!
Looking for ways to keep your brain engaged? Write a story with a little help from I Need a Prompt.
Explore the world of creative writing with The International Writers Program's online courses
Kate DiCamillo is offering writing classes on Facebook.
Kids Ask Authors is a new podcast hosted by Grace Lin that will feature some of our favorite children's authors.
Laura's Lessons offers poetry writing workshops and tips.
Middle Grade at Heart is an email archive from a group of passionate middle grade authors. Visit the link to read about new releases and check out past issues.
The Museum of Childhood in Ireland is hosting Project 2020/TOGETHER, a platform for children of all ages to respond to writing prompts and express their fears, hopes, thoughts, and observations with others. Works submitted will be highlighted in a virtual exhibition.
NaNoWriMo will provide you with a plan to write your novel in 30 days.
Poetry Ideas from Joyce Sidman.
Video Mini-Lessons from nonfiction writer Melissa Stewart.
Writing Lesson: How to Write Authentically from author Elly Swartz.
Writing Videos for Kids by Victoria J. Coe.
Writing Prompts from Madelyn Rosenberg.
I'm Just Bored...
Sometimes boredom sets in and you don't know what to do with your time.
Now’s the time to teach yourself those skills you’ve wanted to learn!
 
You can learn a new language or practice your skills with Transparent Language.
Learn the basics of coding with Code.orgCodecademy, and Scratch.
It might be the best time to simply enjoy a good book, binge on audiobooks, or catch a movie you missed. Downloadable ebooks, audiobooks, and magazines are available through OverdriveRBDigital, and Homegrown eBooks.
Film buffs will enjoy our collection of classic, independent, and world cinema through Kanopy, which also features a platform specifically for kids.
Research your genealogy from home using HeritageQuest. Just sign in with your library card.
Looking for ways to keep your brain engaged? Write a story with a little help from Writer Igniter.