Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Wilkes Check it Out

Check it Out! August 2020

undefined

Debut Authors to Check Out This Month

  • Finola Austin, Bronte's Mistress
    • This dazzling debut novel for fans of Mrs. Poe and Longbourn explores the scandalous historical love affair between Branwell Brontë and Lydia Robinson, giving voice to the woman who allegedly corrupted her son's innocent tutor and brought down the entire Brontë family.
  • Kwana Jackson, Real Men Knit
    • When their foster-turned-adoptive mother suddenly dies, four brothers struggle to keep open the doors of her beloved Harlem knitting shop.
  • Katherine Schellman, The Body in the Garden
    • London 1815. Though newly-widowed Lily Adler is returning to a society that frowns on independent women, she is determined to create a meaningful life for herself even without a husband. She's no stranger to the glittering world of London's upper crust. At a ball thrown by her oldest friend, Lady Walter, she expects the scandal, gossip, and secrets. What she doesn't expect is the dead body in Lady Walter's garden.

Give These Authors a Try

  • Connie Schultz, The Daughters of Erietown
    • In the 1950s, Ellie and Brick are teenagers in love. A basketball star, Brick could escape his abusive father and be the first person in his working-class family to go to college. But when Ellie becomes pregnant, they marry, she gives up her dream of nursing school, and Brick gets a union card instead. This ... novel tells the story of three generations in a working-class family--especially Brick and Ellie's daughter, Samantha
  • Anna Solomon, The Book of V.
    • This historical novel intertwines the lives of the Bible's Queen Esther, a senator's wife in the 1970s, and a Brooklyn mother in 2016, whose stories trace surprising and moving parallels across centuries.

Your Favorites with New Books This Month

  • Donna Andrews, The Falcon Always Wings Twice
  • Mary Balogh, Someone to Romance
  • Sandra Brown, This as Thieves
  • Wanda Brunstetter, The Mockingbird's Song, vol. 2
  • Meg Cabot, No Offense
  • Fern Michaels, Bitter Pill
  • Karin Slaughter, The SIlent Wife
  • Danielle Steel, Royal

New Titles Coming to You This Month

(Psst:  You can go ahead and put a hold on these items by clicking on the link for the items and signing in to your library account.  If the link isn't live yet, it means we are in the process of ordering the title and it isn't in the catalog yet for placing holds.)

Adult Fiction

Adult Nonfiction

Audiobooks and Movies

Kids

Young Adult