- Consumer Financial Protection Bureau: Auto Loans
The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau: Auto Loans webpage can help users answer questions such as: Should I buy a car or lease? Do I need insurance before shopping for a car? And, what's the difference between a simple interest rate and precomputed interest?
- Federal Reserve: Selected Interest Rates
The Federal Reserve: Selected Interest Rates webpage provides weekly interest rate quotes that can be used to determine how the interest rate you are being offered at an auto dealership compares with what a bank could potentially offer. Be sure to pay attention to the Bank Prime Loan rate (also called the base rate).
- Federal Trade Commission: Understanding Vehicle Financing
The Federal Trade Commission: Understanding Vehicle Financing webpage provides information on financing options, applying for financing and much, much more.
- Kelley Blue Book
Kelley Blue Book is a consumer resource for vehicle information and valuation. It can be used to determine the price range for a new or used vehicle as well as to determine the trade-in value on a vehicle.
- NADA Guides
NADAguides is a consumer resource for vehicle information and valuation. It can be used to determine the price range for a new or used vehicle as well as to determine the trade-in value on a vehicle.
- N.C. Department of Justice: Getting a Car Loan
The N.C. Department of Justice: Getting a Car Loan webpage has North Carolina specific information on car loans, buying a new car, buying a used car, auto repairs, car repossession and NC's Lemon Law.
- Annual Credit Report
Maintained by Central Source, LLC, this is the official site to get your federally mandated free annual credit reports from Equifax, Experian and TransUnion.
- National Foundation for Credit Counseling
NFCC member agencies provide financial reviews and education to millions of consumers each year in person, over the phone, or online. Every NFCC member agency client receives comprehensive money management services based on their individual needs. NFCC member agencies provide a variety of free and affordable services including: Credit/Debt Counseling; Bankruptcy Counseling; Housing Counseling; Reverse Mortgage Counseling; Student Loan Debt Counseling; Debt Management Plans; Credit Report Reviews and; Financial Education.
- National Endowment for Financial Education: Tools
The National Endowment for Financial Education's (NEFE's) website has a collection of tools that can help you get your spending under control.
- NC 2-1-1
Maintained by the United Way this is site assists users in locating housing, clothing, legal and medical assistance.
- N.C. Foreclosure Prevention Fund
N.C. Housing Finance Agency's N.C. Foreclosure Prevention Fund website has information to help North Carolina homeowners who are struggling to make their mortgage payments due to job loss, reduction in income, or temporary financial hardship, such as divorce, illness or death of a spouse. The Fund also assists returning veterans who are transitioning to civilian jobs.
- N.C. Housing Finance Agency
The N.C. Housing Finance Agency's website has information to help North Carolinians purchase homes. Since its creation in 1973 by the General Assembly, the Agency has financed more than 255,000 affordable homes and apartments, totaling $19.2 billion. Use their site to learn about how they can help with low-cost mortgages and down payment assistance for qualified home buyers, the development of housing for people with special needs and, the rehabilitation of substandard owner-occupied homes.
- SaveAndInvest.org: Control Your Credit
This is the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority's (FINRA's) Action Plan: Control Your Credit webpage. On this page, individuals will find useful advice for learning to control their spending as well as paying down their credit cards.
- SaveAndInvest.org: Dig Yourself Out of Debt
This is the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority's (FINRA's) Action Plan: Dig Yourself Out of Debt webpage. On this page, individuals will find useful advice for reducing debt.
- Smart About Money
Smart About Money or SAM, is a website by the National Endowment for Financial Education (NEFE) and is a free, unbiased resource where you can find articles, resources, calculators and tips to help you manage your money through life's ups and downs.
- Spendster
The National Endowment for Financial Education's (NEFE's) Spendster website has a collection of videos that can help you get your spending under control.
- We Got Real: Real Food Meal Plan for the Broke
This website was created by a homemaker to share her knowledge about food, health, frugality and simple living. On this page you will find weekly meal plans for a family of four on a budget.
- WebMD: 6 Dinners on a Budget
This article from the for-profit website, WebMD, provides readers with 6 meal plans which will serve up to four people.
- Wholesomemommy.com: REAL Food on a Food Stamp Budget
This website by educator Denise Sawyer is dedicated to helping people on a budget plan meals that are affordable, nutritious and delicious. To access the menu plans and grocery lists, enter your e-mail in the box located in the upper right corner of the blog.
- College Foundation of North Carolina
The state of North Carolina's College Foundation of North Carolina website contains state specific information for students, parents and adult learners related to planning, applying and paying for college. This is a great resource for learning about State and federal merit and need based grants and scholarships.
- COLLEGEdata: Scholarship Search
This website is a service of 1st Financial Bank and can be used by parents or students to find scholarships based on criteria such as GPA, gender, residency, ethnicity, religion and area of study.
- Federal School Code Search (FAFSA)
The U.S. Department of Education's FAFSA Federal School Code Search webpage allows users to locate college codes for use on their FAFSA application as well as find detailed college information, like tuition and fee amounts and graduation rates, and compare that information for up to 10 colleges at a time.
- Federal Student Aid
The U.S. Department of Education's Federal Student Aid website has information about preparing for college; different types of aid, qualifications for receiving it, and applying for it as well as information about repayment.
- Federal Student Aid: Repayment Estimator
The U.S. Department of Education's Repayment Estimator can be used to estimate payments and explore repayment options based on your income. Users have the choice of logging-in to the system to receive estimates based on actual loan amounts or remaining anonymous and using average loan balances to view estimates.
- Free Application For Federal Student Aid (FAFSA)
The U.S. Department of Education's Free Application for Federal Student Aid website can be used to file for financial aid to attend college.
- National Student Loan Data System
The National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS) is the U.S. Department of Education's (ED's) central database for student aid. NSLDS receives data from schools, guaranty agencies, the Direct Loan program, and other Department of ED programs. NSLDS Student Access provides a centralized, integrated view of Title IV loans and grants so that recipients of Title IV Aid can access and inquire about their Title IV loans and/or grant data.
- Philanthropic Educational Organization (P.E.O. International)
The PEO has supported women's education since 1869 and has provided more than $264M in loans/grants. To learn more, please visit their website or send them an e-mail at
peo.education.funding@gmail.com.
- Student Aid Deadlines (FAFSA)
FAFSA's Student Aid Deadline tool allows users to view FAFSA deadlines based on their state of residence.
- Student Aid Glossary (FAFSA)
Federal Student Aid's online glossary with definitions of frequently used terms in federal financial aid.
- Student Loans
The U.S. Department of Education's Student Loans website will provide users with Financial Awareness Counseling and allows users to request PLUS Loan applications, complete a Master Promissory Note (MPN), complete a Direct Consolidation Loan Application and apply for an Income-Driven Repayment Plan.
- Barron's
Barron's is an American weekly newspaper that covers U.S. financial information, market developments, and relevant statistics. Full text is available from 1994-Present. A library card is required for remote access.
- The Economist
The Economist offers authoritative insight and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science, technology and the connections between them. Full text is available from 1992-Present. A library card is required for remote access.
- Forbes
Forbes is a leading source for reliable business news and financial information. Full text is available 2010-Present. A library card is required for remote access.
- Kiplinger
Leader in personal finance news and business forecasting. Get trusted advice on investing, retirement, taxes, saving, real estate, cars, college, insurance. Full text coverage is available from 2010-Present. A library card is required for remote access.
- Wall Street Journal
Coverage of breaking news and current headlines from the US and around the world. Top stories, photos, videos, detailed analysis and in-depth reporting. Full text coverage is available from 1984-Present. A library card is required for remote access.
- FakeChecks.org
This website by the National Consumer's League is a central source of information and advice about fake check scams.
- Federal Trade Commission
The U.S. Federal Trade Commission is a bipartisan federal agency with a unique dual mission to protect consumers and promote competition. Use their website to file complaints, report identity theft and list a number on the "National Do Not Call Registry".
- FINRA: Protect Your Money
The Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA) website's Protect Your Money webpage can help you avoid fraud, protect your identity and verify investment brokers.
- IdentityTheft.gov
IdentityTheft.gov is the federal government’s one-stop resource for identity theft victims. The site provides streamlined checklists and sample letters to guide you through the recovery process.
- Internet Crime Complaint Center
The Internet Crime Complaint Center (IC3) is a partnership between the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) and the National White Collar Crime Center (NW3C). This site contains information about filing complaints as well as press releases related to current scams.
- SaveAndInvest.org: Fraud Center
The Financial Industry Regulatory Authority's (FINRA's) Fraud Center webpage contains information to help users evaluate whether or not something is a scam and evaluate whether or not they are at risk of becoming a victim of a scam or identity theft.
- U.S. Postal Inspection Service: File A Complaint
The U.S. Postal Inspection Service's File a Complaint webpage can be used to report mail fraud, mail theft and identity theft.
- Watauga County Sheriff's Office
The mission of the Watauga County Sheriff's Office is to provide primary law enforcement services to the citizens of Watauga County in order to protect their lives, well-being and property. It is their objective to enhance the citizen's quality of life by reducing crime and the fear of crime.
- American Association of Individual Investors
Investing basics, financial planning, stocks, mutual funds and portfolio management.
- Better Investing
Like the popular magazine, ''Better Investing,'' this website is sponsored by the National Association of Investors Corporation, a nonprofit group that provides high-quality investment education. Learn how to invest as an individual or how to form an investment club.
- Big Charts
If you prefer a more visual depiction of your investment's performance, BigCharts offers charts, quotes and research on more than 24,000 stocks, mutual funds and indexes.
- Broker Check (FINRA)
BrokerCheck is a free tool to help investors research the professional backgrounds of brokerage firms and brokers currently or formerly registered with FINRA or a national securities exchange, as well as current or former investment adviser firms and representatives. BrokerCheck information is drawn from filings by regulators, firms and investment professionals. It includes current licensing status and history, employment history and, if any, reported regulatory, customer dispute, criminal and other matters.
- EDGAR (U.S. SEC)
The United States Securities and Exchange Commission requires all companies, foreign and domestic, to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR. Anyone can access and download this information for free. Forms of typical interest include Form 10-K (Annual Reports), Form 10-Q (Quarterly Reports) and Form 8-K (Current Reports-aka major events such as insider transactions, executive rollover, etc.)
- Fund Analyzer (FINRA)
FINRA's Fund Analyzer offers information and analysis on over 18,000 mutual funds, Exchange Traded Funds (ETFs) and Exchange Traded Notes (ETNs). This tool estimates the value of the funds and impact of fees and expenses on your investment and also allows you the ability to look up applicable fees and available discounts for funds.
- Morningstar (NC Live)
Stock and mutual fund analysis made available in an easy to use format. A library card is required for remote access.
- North American Industry Classification System
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. This website provides the latest information on plans for NAICS revisions, as well as access to various NAICS reference files and tools. The official 2012 U.S. NAICS Manual includes definitions for each industry, background information, tables showing changes between 2007 and 2012, and a comprehensive index.
- North American Securities Administrators Association (NASAA)
The North American Securities Administrators Association (NASAA) is the oldest international organization devoted to investor protection. NASAA is a voluntary association whose membership consists of 67 state, provincial, and territorial securities administrators in the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Canada, and Mexico.
- North Carolina Secretary of State: Investor Education Resources
The North Carolina Secretary of State: Investor Education Resources page has videos and brochures as well as investor education and teacher materials that cover topics such as fraud, filing a complaint and different types of financial instruments.
- ProQuest Business Market Research Collection (NC Live)
This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots. A library card is required for remote access.
- Smart Investing (F.I.N.R.A.)
FINRA's Smart Investing webpage contains links to information designed to help current and potential investors learn about a wide variety of financial topics as well as tools. Everything from opening a brokerage account to saving for college to planning for retirement is covered.
- Social Security Administration
The U.S. Social Security Administration's website allows users to view their Social Security Statement, estimate their benefits and apply for benefits.